Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Baskin-Robbins

Baskin-Robbins franchise — is it worth it?

FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

Medium risk Item 19 disclosed

Baskin-Robbins is a well-known ice cream franchise with a royalty rate of 1.9%.

Everything below is free, read straight off Baskin-Robbins's registered filing. Weighing Baskin-Robbins against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
1.9%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Disclosed
figure not machine-read
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3

Figures above are as disclosed in Baskin-Robbins's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 640452 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Baskin-Robbins? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Baskin-Robbins will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

How much does a Baskin-Robbins franchise make?

Baskin-Robbins is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly from this filing, so we don't print one; Item 19 of the source FDD has the tables. See every other brand that discloses earnings in the Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

Baskin-Robbins franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come Baskin-Robbins's 1.9% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a Baskin-Robbins franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "Baskin-Robbins franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure.

Baskin-Robbins lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Baskin-Robbins's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Baskin-Robbins itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Baskin-Robbins closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Baskin-Robbins will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Baskin-Robbins's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a franchise of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Baskin-Robbins's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns Baskin-Robbins?

Baskin-Robbins's franchise is offered by BASKIN ROBBINS FRANCHISING LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Baskin-Robbins is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

30 Minute Hit$15,000 – $75,000Bee Organized$40,100 – $68,760 · Item 19 disclosed212 Contender eSports$195,980 – $406,030Bar Method$356,292 – $512,854 · Item 19 disclosed180 Water$186,111 – $712,640Bang Cookies$405,370 – $622,020 · Item 19 disclosed1-800-FLOWERS/1-800-FLOWERS.COM$258,500 – $932,5001-800-TEXTILES$358,200 – $939,000 · Item 19 disclosed2 Hours of Freedom$465,623 – $892,693 · Item 19 disclosed1-800-FLOWERSinvestment not disclosed1Heart Caregiver Servicesinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedBe Localinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

Baskin-Robbins franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Baskin-Robbins — who is the franchisor?

Baskin-Robbins's most recently filed FDD (2026) names BASKIN ROBBINS FRANCHISING LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Baskin-Robbins franchise cost?

Baskin-Robbins's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7 and a 1.9% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a Baskin-Robbins franchise make?

Baskin-Robbins discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (1.9% of gross for Baskin-Robbins), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any Baskin-Robbins franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate.

Does Baskin-Robbins disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — Baskin-Robbins reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly, so check Item 19 of the source FDD for the numbers.

Are there lawsuits against Baskin-Robbins?

Baskin-Robbins's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Baskin-Robbins itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Baskin-Robbins a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Baskin-Robbins's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against category peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Baskin-Robbins?

Get a free email when something changes on Baskin-Robbins or this category: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.