Franchise Facts Report → compare → Domino's Pizza vs Little Caesars
Domino's Pizza vs Little Caesars
Two quick-service restaurant franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| Domino's Pizza | Little Caesars | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | $231,450 – $743,500 | $393,000 – $1,728,700 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | — | $20,000 |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | 5.5% | 6% |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | — | — |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 6,948 | 3,601 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | +197 | -26 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | — | 2% |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | disclosed | disclosed |
| Risk level our read | Medium | High |
| FDD year registration | 2026 | 2024 |
Are Domino's Pizza and Little Caesars the same company?
No — Domino's Pizza and Little Caesars are franchised by separate companies. Domino's Pizza's franchisor is DOMINO'S PIZZA FRANCHISING LLC; Little Caesars's is Little Caesar Enterprises, Inc.. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
Cost to open
Domino's Pizza is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $231,450 – $743,500, against $393,000 – $1,728,700 for Little Caesars.
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Neither Domino's Pizza nor Little Caesars makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Closures & failure rate
Domino's Pizza reports 6,948 franchised outlets, net change +197 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Little Caesars reports 3,601 franchised outlets, net change -26 in the latest reported year, a 2% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate.
Litigation
Domino's Pizza discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (each case is described there). Little Caesars discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (each case is described there).
Deciding between Domino's Pizza and Little Caesars?
See what else fits before you choose. Tell us your budget and state and we'll send you the 5–10 quick-service restaurant franchises (or any industries you pick) with the strongest FDD record for it.
Domino's Pizza vs Little Caesars — frequently asked
Are Domino's Pizza and Little Caesars the same company?
No — Domino's Pizza and Little Caesars are franchised by separate companies. Domino's Pizza's franchisor is DOMINO'S PIZZA FRANCHISING LLC; Little Caesars's is Little Caesar Enterprises, Inc.. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
What is the difference between Domino's Pizza and Little Caesars?
Domino's Pizza and Little Caesars are quick-service restaurant franchises from different franchisors (DOMINO'S PIZZA FRANCHISING LLC and Little Caesar Enterprises, Inc.). Domino's Pizza is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $231,450 – $743,500, against $393,000 – $1,728,700 for Little Caesars. Neither Domino's Pizza nor Little Caesars makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Is Domino's Pizza more profitable than Little Caesars?
Neither Domino's Pizza nor Little Caesars makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Which is cheaper to open — Domino's Pizza or Little Caesars?
Domino's Pizza is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $231,450 – $743,500, against $393,000 – $1,728,700 for Little Caesars.
Is Domino's Pizza or Little Caesars growing faster?
Domino's Pizza reports 6,948 franchised outlets, net change +197 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Little Caesars reports 3,601 franchised outlets, net change -26 in the latest reported year, a 2% closure rate (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Quick-service restaurant rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Domino's Pizza 2026, Little Caesars 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.