Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → United Soccer League

United Soccer League franchise — is it worth it?

Other · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

High risk Significant turnover

The United Soccer League | USL Championship offers a unique opportunity in the sports and entertainment category with a relatively low initial investment.

Everything below is free, read straight off United Soccer League's registered filing, with where the numbers land against other peers. Weighing United Soccer League against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$20,000 – $80,000
Top quartile for other · median $227,750
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
—
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Closure rate
17.2%
FDD Item 20
Outlet network
24 units
-5 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in United Soccer League's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-28170 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering United Soccer League? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. United Soccer League will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

United Soccer League franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: United Soccer League does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for United Soccer League — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing; the fees, litigation and outlet churn United Soccer League's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

United Soccer League lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

United Soccer League's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against United Soccer League itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

United Soccer League closures & failure rate

Before you sign, United Soccer League will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what United Soccer League's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a other of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. United Soccer League's latest tables show significant franchisee turnover. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 17.2%. Net franchised outlets moved -5 to 24 in the latest reported year.

Who owns United Soccer League?

United Soccer League's franchise is offered by USL Pro, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Franchises at a similar investment level at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing United Soccer League is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Velox Valuations$35,800 – $60,200 · Item 19 disclosedUsl D3$20,000 – $80,000Matco Tools$10,000 – $92,000AmeriCare$33,599 – $68,599AmeriCare and AMLI Care$33,599 – $68,599Mai Sushi Bars$26,270 – $76,700Field Ops$14,450 – $89,300I4K$45,860 – $58,040 · Item 19 disclosedUnited Defense Tactical$408,700 – $761,000UNITS$518,000 – $1,269,400 · Item 19 disclosedUltimate Ninjas$616,400 – $1,191,800Unscripted by Hyattinvestment not disclosed

United Soccer League franchise — frequently asked

Who owns United Soccer League — who is the franchisor?

United Soccer League's most recently filed FDD (2024) names USL Pro, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a United Soccer League franchise cost?

United Soccer League's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $20,000 – $80,000. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against other peers it sits in the top quartile (median $227,750).

How much profit does a United Soccer League franchise make?

United Soccer League makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for United Soccer League at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does United Soccer League disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — United Soccer League's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing.

Are there lawsuits against United Soccer League?

United Soccer League's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against United Soccer League itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is United Soccer League a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from United Soccer League's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against other peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching United Soccer League?

Get a free email when something changes on United Soccer League or other: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.