Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Erik's DeliCafe

Erik's DeliCafe franchise — is it worth it?

Quick-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Low risk Stable network Item 19 disclosed

Erik's DeliCafe is a quick-service restaurant franchise with an investment range of $208,500 to $406,600.

Everything below is free, read straight off Erik's DeliCafe's registered filing, with where the numbers land against quick-service restaurant peers. Weighing Erik's DeliCafe against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$208,500 – $406,600
Top quartile for quick-service restaurant · median $604,609
Initial franchise fee
$20,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
$736,227
avg unit revenue, as disclosed
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Closure rate
3.8%
quick-service restaurant median 2.9%
Outlet network
26 units
flat last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Erik's DeliCafe's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-28572 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Erik's DeliCafe? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Erik's DeliCafe will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

How much does a Erik's DeliCafe franchise make?

Erik's DeliCafe is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The headline figure is $736,227 in average unit revenue — read it alongside what Item 19 says about which units it covers (often only mature or top-performing locations). See every quick-service restaurant brand that discloses earnings in the Fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

Erik's DeliCafe franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come Erik's DeliCafe's 5% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a Erik's DeliCafe franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "Erik's DeliCafe franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure. On $736,227 of revenue, a 5% royalty alone is about $36,811 a year before any other cost.

Erik's DeliCafe lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Erik's DeliCafe's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Erik's DeliCafe closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Erik's DeliCafe will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Erik's DeliCafe's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a quick-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Erik's DeliCafe's latest tables show a stable franchised network. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 3.8%, against a quick-service restaurant median of 2.9% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved 0 to 26 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Erik's DeliCafe?

Erik's DeliCafe's franchise is offered by Erik's DeliCafe Franchises, Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Quick-service restaurant franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Erik's DeliCafe is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Brooks Burgers$10,920 – $583,500Poke Bar$157,800 – $438,000Poki Bowl$187,750 – $423,523 · Item 19 disclosedTaco Rico or$249,000 – $372,500 · Item 19 disclosedPizza Guys$200,100 – $424,050 · Item 19 disclosedVabbe Pizza$91,325 – $537,580Thai Esane$181,500 – $452,000 · Item 19 disclosedAtomic Wings (Unit)$119,950 – $515,937Epic Wings$564,950 – $1,465,432 · Item 19 disclosedErbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shopinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedExtreme Pizzainvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedFamous Dave's®investment not disclosed

Erik's DeliCafe franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Erik's DeliCafe — who is the franchisor?

Erik's DeliCafe's most recently filed FDD (2024) names Erik's DeliCafe Franchises, Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Erik's DeliCafe franchise cost?

Erik's DeliCafe's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $208,500 – $406,600, with an initial franchise fee of $20,000 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against quick-service restaurant peers it sits in the top quartile (median $604,609).

How much profit does a Erik's DeliCafe franchise make?

Erik's DeliCafe discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (5% of gross for Erik's DeliCafe), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any Erik's DeliCafe franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate. The headline figure Erik's DeliCafe discloses is $736,227 in average unit revenue.

Does Erik's DeliCafe disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — Erik's DeliCafe reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The headline figure is $736,227 in average unit revenue, as the franchisor states it.

Are there lawsuits against Erik's DeliCafe?

No — Erik's DeliCafe's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Erik's DeliCafe a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Erik's DeliCafe's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against quick-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is low risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Erik's DeliCafe?

Get a free email when something changes on Erik's DeliCafe or quick-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.