Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → El Pollo Loco

El Pollo Loco franchise — is it worth it?

FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk Growing network

What El Pollo Loco's most recent Franchise Disclosure Document says about the money, the litigation, and the franchisee churn — before you wire a five- or six-figure franchise fee.

Everything below is free, read straight off El Pollo Loco's registered filing, with where the numbers land against category peers. Weighing El Pollo Loco against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$793,750 – $2,685,500
Bottom quartile for other · median $227,750
Initial franchise fee
$40,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Outlet network
325 units
+2 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in El Pollo Loco's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 33357-202504-07 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering El Pollo Loco? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. El Pollo Loco will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

El Pollo Loco franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: El Pollo Loco does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for El Pollo Loco — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing; the fees, litigation and outlet churn El Pollo Loco's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

El Pollo Loco lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

El Pollo Loco's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against El Pollo Loco itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

El Pollo Loco closures & failure rate

Before you sign, El Pollo Loco will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what El Pollo Loco's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a franchise of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. El Pollo Loco's latest tables show a growing franchised network. Net franchised outlets moved +2 to 325 in the latest reported year.

Who owns El Pollo Loco?

El Pollo Loco's franchise is offered by EL POLLO LOCO INC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Compare El Pollo Loco head-to-head

Carl's Jr vs El Pollo Lococost · earnings · failure rateDel Taco vs El Pollo Lococost · earnings · failure rateEl Pollo Loco vs Blaze Pizzacost · earnings · failure rateGodfather's Pizza vs El Pollo Lococost · earnings · failure rateQdoba vs El Pollo Lococost · earnings · failure rate

Franchises at a similar investment level at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing El Pollo Loco is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Elements Massage$2,700 – $6,700Egl USA$100,800 – $275,525 · Item 19 disclosedStudio 6 Plus$581,892 – $2,514,592Central Bark$1,049,948 – $2,099,948 · Item 19 disclosedEscapology$630,500 – $2,535,500 · Item 19 disclosedSpeed Queen$1,199,663 – $1,983,000 · Item 19 disclosedMoraya Urban Baths$994,350 – $2,206,400Laundry Spot$1,268,500 – $2,241,750 · Item 19 disclosedSteak n Shake by Biglari$1,344,419 – $2,340,385 · Item 19 disclosedDo The Beach$1,004,900 – $2,820,700 · Item 19 disclosedEinstein Bros.investment not disclosedElixir Superfood & Juice Restaurantinvestment not disclosed

El Pollo Loco franchise — frequently asked

Who owns El Pollo Loco — who is the franchisor?

El Pollo Loco's most recently filed FDD (2024) names EL POLLO LOCO INC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a El Pollo Loco franchise cost?

El Pollo Loco's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $793,750 – $2,685,500, with an initial franchise fee of $40,000 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against category peers it sits in the bottom quartile (median $227,750).

How much profit does a El Pollo Loco franchise make?

El Pollo Loco makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for El Pollo Loco at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does El Pollo Loco disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — El Pollo Loco's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing.

Are there lawsuits against El Pollo Loco?

El Pollo Loco's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against El Pollo Loco itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is El Pollo Loco a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from El Pollo Loco's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against category peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching El Pollo Loco?

Get a free email when something changes on El Pollo Loco or this category: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.