Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Corner Bakery Cafe

Corner Bakery Cafe franchise — is it worth it?

Quick-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

High risk Shrinking network

Corner Bakery Cafe is a quick-service restaurant franchise requiring an initial investment between $1.09M and $2.17M.

Everything below is free, read straight off Corner Bakery Cafe's registered filing, with where the numbers land against quick-service restaurant peers. Weighing Corner Bakery Cafe against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$1,090,000 – $2,168,000
Bottom quartile for quick-service restaurant · median $604,609
Initial franchise fee
$40,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
2 cases
in Item 3
Closure rate
11.9%
quick-service restaurant median 2.9%
Outlet network
37 units
-5 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Corner Bakery Cafe's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 31835-202405-08 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Corner Bakery Cafe? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Corner Bakery Cafe will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Corner Bakery Cafe franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Corner Bakery Cafe does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Corner Bakery Cafe — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (56% of quick-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Corner Bakery Cafe's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Corner Bakery Cafe lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Corner Bakery Cafe's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) does disclose 2 legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Corner Bakery Cafe itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. 1 of those proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor — the split that actually matters, because franchisees suing their franchisor is the signal a buyer is looking for. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Corner Bakery Cafe closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Corner Bakery Cafe will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Corner Bakery Cafe's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a quick-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Corner Bakery Cafe's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 11.9%, against a quick-service restaurant median of 2.9% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -5 to 37 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Corner Bakery Cafe?

Corner Bakery Cafe's franchise is offered by Best Cafe - Franchises, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Quick-service restaurant franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Corner Bakery Cafe is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Copper Branch$493,600 – $849,500Cousins Subs$464,700 – $1,164,500 · Item 19 disclosedCosta Vida Fresh Mexican Grill$659,500 – $1,300,000 · Item 19 disclosedColbie's Southern Kissed Chicken$365,500 – $2,024,000 · Item 19 disclosedDairy Queen of Virginia$570,100 – $2,550,800 · Item 19 disclosedJohnny Rockets$517,300 – $2,667,900 · Item 19 disclosedChurch's Chicken$1,252,400 – $1,970,300Dos Coyotes$1,471,500 – $1,793,500 · Item 19 disclosedWings and Rings$1,359,000 – $1,982,000 · Item 19 disclosedCHOPT®$815,250 – $2,575,250 · Item 19 disclosedBobby's Burgers by Bobby Flay$547,950 – $2,862,000Mellow Mushroom Pizza$1,350,000 – $2,071,000

Corner Bakery Cafe franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Corner Bakery Cafe — who is the franchisor?

Corner Bakery Cafe's most recently filed FDD (2024) names Best Cafe - Franchises, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Corner Bakery Cafe franchise cost?

Corner Bakery Cafe's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $1,090,000 – $2,168,000, with an initial franchise fee of $40,000 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against quick-service restaurant peers it sits in the bottom quartile (median $604,609).

How much profit does a Corner Bakery Cafe franchise make?

Corner Bakery Cafe makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Corner Bakery Cafe at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Corner Bakery Cafe disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Corner Bakery Cafe's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 56% of quick-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Corner Bakery Cafe?

Corner Bakery Cafe's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses 2 legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Corner Bakery Cafe itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing. 1 of the disclosed proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor.

Is Corner Bakery Cafe a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Corner Bakery Cafe's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against quick-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Corner Bakery Cafe?

Get a free email when something changes on Corner Bakery Cafe or quick-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.