Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices franchise — is it worth it?

FDD-based assessment · registered 2022

Medium risk Shrinking network

What Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices's most recent Franchise Disclosure Document says about the money, the litigation, and the franchisee churn — before you wire a five- or six-figure franchise fee.

Everything below is free, read straight off Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices's registered filing, with where the numbers land against category peers. Weighing Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$43,300 – $88,375
Top quartile for other · median $227,750
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
6%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Closure rate
2.8%
FDD Item 20
Outlet network
248 units
-5 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices's most recent FDD (registered 2022). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 24343-202205-04 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing; the fees, litigation and outlet churn Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2022) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a franchise of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 2.8%. Net franchised outlets moved -5 to 248 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices?

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices's franchise is offered by BHH Affiliates LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2022), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Franchises at a similar investment level at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Belocal$1,925 – $10,910Bee Organized$40,100 – $68,760 · Item 19 disclosedFatburger$36,500 – $88,000SVN$33,780 – $92,110Rooter-Man$45,075 – $82,475Filtergo$18,200 – $111,200Dunkin$40,000 – $90,000 · Item 19 disclosedsenior's choice the seniors choice$64,000 – $68,500 · Item 19 disclosedEOS Worldwide$12,870 – $123,400DoodyCalls$64,025 – $73,025 · Item 19 disclosedBetter Homes and Gardens Real Estate$81,500 – $187,300Bevaris Alliance Franchise System$82,250 – $502,000

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices — who is the franchisor?

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices's most recently filed FDD (2022) names BHH Affiliates LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices franchise cost?

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $43,300 – $88,375 and a 6% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against category peers it sits in the top quartile (median $227,750).

How much profit does a Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices franchise make?

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing.

Are there lawsuits against Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices?

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices's most recently filed FDD (2022) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against category peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices?

Get a free email when something changes on Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices or this category: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.