Franchise Facts Report → compare → Scooter's Coffee vs Hot Stuff Pizza/
Scooter's Coffee vs Hot Stuff Pizza/
Two food & beverage franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| Scooter's Coffee | Hot Stuff Pizza/ | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | — | $63,097 – $173,097 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | $40,000 | — |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | 6% | — |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | $999,869 | — |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 882 | 752 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | +57 | -71 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | 3.2% | — |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | 0 | 0 |
| Risk level our read | Low | Medium |
| FDD year registration | 2026 | 2024 |
Are Scooter's Coffee and Hot Stuff Pizza/ the same company?
No — Scooter's Coffee and Hot Stuff Pizza/ are franchised by separate companies. Scooter's Coffee's franchisor is Scooter's Coffee Franchisor, LLC; Hot Stuff Pizza/'s is Orion Foods Systems, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
Cost to open
Both brands disclose their total initial investment in FDD Item 7: see FDD for Scooter's Coffee, $63,097 – $173,097 for Hot Stuff Pizza/.
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Only Scooter's Coffee disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation (headline average unit revenue $999,869), while Hot Stuff Pizza/'s most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Closures & failure rate
Scooter's Coffee reports 882 franchised outlets, net change +57 in the latest reported year, a 3.2% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Hot Stuff Pizza/ reports 752 franchised outlets, net change -71 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate.
Litigation
Scooter's Coffee discloses no franchisee-initiated proceedings in FDD Item 3. Hot Stuff Pizza/ discloses no franchisee-initiated proceedings in FDD Item 3.
Deciding between Scooter's Coffee and Hot Stuff Pizza/?
See what else fits before you choose. Tell us your budget and state and we'll send you the 5–10 food & beverage franchises (or any industries you pick) with the strongest FDD record for it.
Scooter's Coffee vs Hot Stuff Pizza/ — frequently asked
Are Scooter's Coffee and Hot Stuff Pizza/ the same company?
No — Scooter's Coffee and Hot Stuff Pizza/ are franchised by separate companies. Scooter's Coffee's franchisor is Scooter's Coffee Franchisor, LLC; Hot Stuff Pizza/'s is Orion Foods Systems, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
What is the difference between Scooter's Coffee and Hot Stuff Pizza/?
Scooter's Coffee and Hot Stuff Pizza/ are food & beverage franchises from different franchisors (Scooter's Coffee Franchisor, LLC and Orion Foods Systems, LLC). Both brands disclose their total initial investment in FDD Item 7: see FDD for Scooter's Coffee, $63,097 – $173,097 for Hot Stuff Pizza/. Only Scooter's Coffee disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation (headline average unit revenue $999,869), while Hot Stuff Pizza/'s most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Is Scooter's Coffee more profitable than Hot Stuff Pizza/?
Only Scooter's Coffee disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation (headline average unit revenue $999,869), while Hot Stuff Pizza/'s most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Which is cheaper to open — Scooter's Coffee or Hot Stuff Pizza/?
Both brands disclose their total initial investment in FDD Item 7: see FDD for Scooter's Coffee, $63,097 – $173,097 for Hot Stuff Pizza/.
Is Scooter's Coffee or Hot Stuff Pizza/ growing faster?
Scooter's Coffee reports 882 franchised outlets, net change +57 in the latest reported year, a 3.2% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Hot Stuff Pizza/ reports 752 franchised outlets, net change -71 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Food & beverage rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Scooter's Coffee 2026, Hot Stuff Pizza/ 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.