Franchise Facts Report → compare → Domino's Pizza vs Marco's Pizza and Marcos
Domino's Pizza vs Marco's Pizza and Marcos
Two quick-service restaurant franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| Domino's Pizza | Marco's Pizza and Marcos | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | $231,450 – $743,500 | $285,631 – $804,856 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | — | $5,000 |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | 5.5% | 5.5% |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | — | — |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 6,948 | 1,076 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | +197 | +54 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | — | 2.6% |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | disclosed | disclosed |
| Risk level our read | Medium | Medium |
| FDD year registration | 2026 | 2024 |
Are Domino's Pizza and Marco's Pizza and Marcos the same company?
No — Domino's Pizza and Marco's Pizza and Marcos are franchised by separate companies. Domino's Pizza's franchisor is DOMINO'S PIZZA FRANCHISING LLC; Marco's Pizza and Marcos's is MARCO'S FRANCHISING LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
Cost to open
Domino's Pizza is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $231,450 – $743,500, against $285,631 – $804,856 for Marco's Pizza and Marcos.
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Neither Domino's Pizza nor Marco's Pizza and Marcos makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Closures & failure rate
Domino's Pizza reports 6,948 franchised outlets, net change +197 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Marco's Pizza and Marcos reports 1,076 franchised outlets, net change +54 in the latest reported year, a 2.6% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate.
Litigation
Domino's Pizza discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (each case is described there). Marco's Pizza and Marcos discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (each case is described there).
Deciding between Domino's Pizza and Marco's Pizza and Marcos?
See what else fits before you choose. Tell us your budget and state and we'll send you the 5–10 quick-service restaurant franchises (or any industries you pick) with the strongest FDD record for it.
Domino's Pizza vs Marco's Pizza and Marcos — frequently asked
Are Domino's Pizza and Marco's Pizza and Marcos the same company?
No — Domino's Pizza and Marco's Pizza and Marcos are franchised by separate companies. Domino's Pizza's franchisor is DOMINO'S PIZZA FRANCHISING LLC; Marco's Pizza and Marcos's is MARCO'S FRANCHISING LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
What is the difference between Domino's Pizza and Marco's Pizza and Marcos?
Domino's Pizza and Marco's Pizza and Marcos are quick-service restaurant franchises from different franchisors (DOMINO'S PIZZA FRANCHISING LLC and MARCO'S FRANCHISING LLC). Domino's Pizza is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $231,450 – $743,500, against $285,631 – $804,856 for Marco's Pizza and Marcos. Neither Domino's Pizza nor Marco's Pizza and Marcos makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Is Domino's Pizza more profitable than Marco's Pizza and Marcos?
Neither Domino's Pizza nor Marco's Pizza and Marcos makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Which is cheaper to open — Domino's Pizza or Marco's Pizza and Marcos?
Domino's Pizza is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $231,450 – $743,500, against $285,631 – $804,856 for Marco's Pizza and Marcos.
Is Domino's Pizza or Marco's Pizza and Marcos growing faster?
Domino's Pizza reports 6,948 franchised outlets, net change +197 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Marco's Pizza and Marcos reports 1,076 franchised outlets, net change +54 in the latest reported year, a 2.6% closure rate (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Quick-service restaurant rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Domino's Pizza 2026, Marco's Pizza and Marcos 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.