Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → compare → Domino's Pizza vs KFC (Traditional)

Domino's Pizza vs KFC (Traditional)

Quick-service restaurant · head-to-head from each brand's most recent FDD

Two quick-service restaurant franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.

Domino's PizzaKFC (Traditional)
Total initial investment
FDD Item 7
$231,450 – $743,500 $135,000 – $540,000
Initial franchise fee
FDD Item 5
— $45,000
Royalty
FDD Item 6
5.5% 4%
Item 19 earnings disclosed
FDD Item 19
Not disclosed Yes
Avg unit revenue (headline)
FDD Item 19
— disclosed (not machine-read)
Franchised outlets
FDD Item 20
6,948 3,715
Net outlet change (latest yr)
FDD Item 20
+197 -127
Closure rate
FDD Item 20
— 4.1%
Franchisee lawsuits
FDD Item 3
disclosed disclosed
Risk level
our read
Medium Medium
FDD year
registration
2026 2024

Are Domino's Pizza and KFC (Traditional) the same company?

No — Domino's Pizza and KFC (Traditional) are franchised by separate companies. Domino's Pizza's franchisor is DOMINO'S PIZZA FRANCHISING LLC; KFC (Traditional)'s is KFC US, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

Cost to open

KFC (Traditional) is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $135,000 – $540,000, against $231,450 – $743,500 for Domino's Pizza.

How much does each make? (Item 19)

Only KFC (Traditional) disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Domino's Pizza's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Closures & failure rate

Domino's Pizza reports 6,948 franchised outlets, net change +197 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). KFC (Traditional) reports 3,715 franchised outlets, net change -127 in the latest reported year, a 4.1% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate.

Litigation

Domino's Pizza discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (each case is described there). KFC (Traditional) discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (each case is described there).

Free · no obligation

Deciding between Domino's Pizza and KFC (Traditional)?

See what else fits before you choose. Tell us your budget and state and we'll send you the 5–10 quick-service restaurant franchises (or any industries you pick) with the strongest FDD record for it.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Domino's Pizza vs KFC (Traditional) — frequently asked

Are Domino's Pizza and KFC (Traditional) the same company?

No — Domino's Pizza and KFC (Traditional) are franchised by separate companies. Domino's Pizza's franchisor is DOMINO'S PIZZA FRANCHISING LLC; KFC (Traditional)'s is KFC US, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

What is the difference between Domino's Pizza and KFC (Traditional)?

Domino's Pizza and KFC (Traditional) are quick-service restaurant franchises from different franchisors (DOMINO'S PIZZA FRANCHISING LLC and KFC US, LLC). KFC (Traditional) is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $135,000 – $540,000, against $231,450 – $743,500 for Domino's Pizza. Only KFC (Traditional) disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Domino's Pizza's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Is Domino's Pizza more profitable than KFC (Traditional)?

Only KFC (Traditional) disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Domino's Pizza's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Which is cheaper to open — Domino's Pizza or KFC (Traditional)?

KFC (Traditional) is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $135,000 – $540,000, against $231,450 – $743,500 for Domino's Pizza.

Is Domino's Pizza or KFC (Traditional) growing faster?

Domino's Pizza reports 6,948 franchised outlets, net change +197 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). KFC (Traditional) reports 3,715 franchised outlets, net change -127 in the latest reported year, a 4.1% closure rate (FDD Item 20).

Go deeper on each brand

Domino's Pizza franchise facts$231,450 – $743,500 · medium risk KFC (Traditional) franchise facts$135,000 – $540,000 · medium risk

Quick-service restaurant rankings

Best fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises by the FDD numbersCheapest fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises to openFast food & quick-service restaurant franchises ranked by average revenueFast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earningsFast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with the most franchisee lawsuitsFastest-growing fast food & quick-service restaurant franchisesLowest-churn fast food & quick-service restaurant franchisesLowest-royalty fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises

Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Domino's Pizza 2026, KFC (Traditional) 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.