Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → The Baked Bear

The Baked Bear franchise — is it worth it?

FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk Item 19 disclosed

The Baked Bear is a dessert franchise that discloses Item 19 financial performance representations, offering a degree of transparency.

Everything below is free, read straight off The Baked Bear's registered filing. Weighing The Baked Bear against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
$35,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
6%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Disclosed
figure not machine-read
Litigation (Item 3)
1 case
in Item 3

Figures above are as disclosed in The Baked Bear's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-31062 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering The Baked Bear? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. The Baked Bear will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

How much does a The Baked Bear franchise make?

The Baked Bear is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly from this filing, so we don't print one; Item 19 of the source FDD has the tables. See every other brand that discloses earnings in the Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

The Baked Bear franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come The Baked Bear's 6% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a The Baked Bear franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "The Baked Bear franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure.

The Baked Bear lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

The Baked Bear's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) does disclose 1 legal proceeding in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against The Baked Bear itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

The Baked Bear closures & failure rate

Before you sign, The Baked Bear will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what The Baked Bear's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a franchise of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. The Baked Bear's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns The Baked Bear?

The Baked Bear's franchise is offered by BB Franchise, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing The Baked Bear is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

The Barbershop A Hair Salon for Men$20,000 – $40,000 · Item 19 disclosed30 Minute Hit$15,000 – $75,000The Alternative Board$57,873 – $81,048The Bunny Hive$145,000 – $235,000212 Contender eSports$195,980 – $406,030The Back Nine$208,117 – $438,117180 Water$186,111 – $712,6401-800-FLOWERS/1-800-FLOWERS.COM$258,500 – $932,5001-800-TEXTILES$358,200 – $939,000 · Item 19 disclosed2 Hours of Freedom$465,623 – $892,693 · Item 19 disclosed1-800-FLOWERSinvestment not disclosed1Heart Caregiver Servicesinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

The Baked Bear franchise — frequently asked

Who owns The Baked Bear — who is the franchisor?

The Baked Bear's most recently filed FDD (2024) names BB Franchise, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a The Baked Bear franchise cost?

The Baked Bear's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7, with an initial franchise fee of $35,000 and a 6% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a The Baked Bear franchise make?

The Baked Bear discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (6% of gross for The Baked Bear), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any The Baked Bear franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate.

Does The Baked Bear disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — The Baked Bear reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly, so check Item 19 of the source FDD for the numbers.

Are there lawsuits against The Baked Bear?

The Baked Bear's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses 1 legal proceeding in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against The Baked Bear itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is The Baked Bear a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from The Baked Bear's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against category peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching The Baked Bear?

Get a free email when something changes on The Baked Bear or this category: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.