Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Steak Escape

Steak Escape franchise — is it worth it?

Quick-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

High risk Significant turnover

Steak Escape is a quick-service restaurant concept with an investment range of $239,500 to $816,500.

Everything below is free, read straight off Steak Escape's registered filing, with where the numbers land against quick-service restaurant peers. Weighing Steak Escape against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$239,500 – $816,500
Below the quick-service restaurant median · median $604,609
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
6%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
1 case
in Item 3
Closure rate
14.3%
quick-service restaurant median 2.9%
Outlet network
24 units
-4 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Steak Escape's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-28551 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Steak Escape? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Steak Escape will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Steak Escape franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Steak Escape does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Steak Escape — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (56% of quick-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Steak Escape's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Steak Escape lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Steak Escape's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) does disclose 1 legal proceeding in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Steak Escape itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. 1 of those proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor — the split that actually matters, because franchisees suing their franchisor is the signal a buyer is looking for. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Steak Escape closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Steak Escape will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Steak Escape's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a quick-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Steak Escape's latest tables show significant franchisee turnover. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 14.3%, against a quick-service restaurant median of 2.9% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -4 to 24 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Steak Escape?

Steak Escape's franchise is offered by Escape Enterprises, Ltd — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Quick-service restaurant franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Steak Escape is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Mahana Fresh$222,200 – $818,500GX Greek Xpress$191,100 – $850,000 · Item 19 disclosedSalad Farm$330,000 – $729,000A.b.'s Smokehouse$382,000 – $678,000Yasubee Ramen$362,500 – $698,000Pizza Factory$323,000 – $740,000 · Item 19 disclosedBig Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria$305,000 – $759,000Tay Ho$337,500 – $730,000Steve's Pizza$471,000 – $980,000Straw Hat$145,000 – $1,568,000 · Item 19 disclosedStalk Spade$774,050 – $1,328,150Starbird$1,116,907 – $1,470,263 · Item 19 disclosed

Steak Escape franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Steak Escape — who is the franchisor?

Steak Escape's most recently filed FDD (2024) names Escape Enterprises, Ltd as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Steak Escape franchise cost?

Steak Escape's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $239,500 – $816,500 and a 6% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against quick-service restaurant peers it sits in the upper quartile (median $604,609).

How much profit does a Steak Escape franchise make?

Steak Escape makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Steak Escape at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Steak Escape disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Steak Escape's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 56% of quick-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Steak Escape?

Steak Escape's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses 1 legal proceeding in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Steak Escape itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing. 1 of the disclosed proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor.

Is Steak Escape a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Steak Escape's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against quick-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Steak Escape?

Get a free email when something changes on Steak Escape or quick-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.