Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria

Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria franchise — is it worth it?

Quick-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2025

High risk Significant turnover

Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria (BMPP) is a quick-service restaurant franchise with an initial investment ranging from $305,000 to $759,000.

Everything below is free, read straight off Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria's registered filing, with where the numbers land against quick-service restaurant peers. Weighing Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$305,000 – $759,000
Below the quick-service restaurant median · median $604,609
Initial franchise fee
$35,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
6%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Closure rate
16.7%
quick-service restaurant median 2.9%
Outlet network
10 units
-2 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria's most recent FDD (registered 2025). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-33416 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (56% of quick-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a quick-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria's latest tables show significant franchisee turnover. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 16.7%, against a quick-service restaurant median of 2.9% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -2 to 10 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria?

Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria's franchise is offered by Big Mamas and Papas Franchising, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Quick-service restaurant franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Big Town Hero$157,950 – $354,700BF Franchise Company$362,650 – $651,000Steak Escape$239,500 – $816,500Salad Farm$330,000 – $729,000A.b.'s Smokehouse$382,000 – $678,000Yasubee Ramen$362,500 – $698,000Pizza Factory$323,000 – $740,000 · Item 19 disclosedTay Ho$337,500 – $730,000TKK Fried Chicken$375,000 – $698,000Which Wich$253,500 – $822,250Blaze Pizza$757,000 – $1,297,100 · Item 19 disclosedBig Chickeninvestment not disclosed

Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria — who is the franchisor?

Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria's most recently filed FDD (2025) names Big Mamas and Papas Franchising, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria franchise cost?

Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $305,000 – $759,000, with an initial franchise fee of $35,000 and a 6% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against quick-service restaurant peers it sits in the upper quartile (median $604,609).

How much profit does a Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria franchise make?

Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 56% of quick-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria?

No — Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria's most recently filed FDD (2025) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against quick-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria?

Get a free email when something changes on Big Mama's and Papa's Pizzeria or quick-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.