Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Speed Queen

Speed Queen franchise — is it worth it?

Other · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

Low risk Growing network Item 19 disclosed

SPEED QUEEN offers a laundromat franchise opportunity with a substantial initial investment ranging from $1,199,663 to $1,983,000.

Everything below is free, read straight off Speed Queen's registered filing, with where the numbers land against other peers. Weighing Speed Queen against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$1,199,663 – $1,983,000
Bottom quartile for other · median $227,750
Initial franchise fee
$49,500
FDD Item 5
Royalty
4%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Disclosed
figure not machine-read
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Closure rate
7.1%
FDD Item 20
Outlet network
15 units
+1 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Speed Queen's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 641204 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Speed Queen? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Speed Queen will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

How much does a Speed Queen franchise make?

Speed Queen is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly from this filing, so we don't print one; Item 19 of the source FDD has the tables. See every other brand that discloses earnings in the Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

Speed Queen franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come Speed Queen's 4% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a Speed Queen franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "Speed Queen franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure.

Speed Queen lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Speed Queen's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Speed Queen closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Speed Queen will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Speed Queen's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a other of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Speed Queen's latest tables show a growing franchised network. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 7.1%. Net franchised outlets moved +1 to 15 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Speed Queen?

Speed Queen's franchise is offered by SPEED QUEEN Laundry Franchise, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Franchises at a similar investment level at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Speed Queen is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Splash and Dash Groomerie and Boutique$119,250 – $221,600Spavia$586,300 – $788,300 · Item 19 disclosedPriceless, Priceless Car and Truck Rental, Priceless Car and Van Rental$265,384 – $2,592,533 · Item 19 disclosedKidcreate$143,960 – $2,950,902 · Item 19 disclosedStudio 6 Plus$581,892 – $2,514,592Central Bark$1,049,948 – $2,099,948 · Item 19 disclosedEscapology$630,500 – $2,535,500 · Item 19 disclosedMoraya Urban Baths$994,350 – $2,206,400El Pollo Loco$793,750 – $2,685,500Laundry Spot$1,268,500 – $2,241,750 · Item 19 disclosedSparkle Wash Internationalinvestment not disclosedSpeedProinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

Speed Queen franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Speed Queen — who is the franchisor?

Speed Queen's most recently filed FDD (2026) names SPEED QUEEN Laundry Franchise, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Speed Queen franchise cost?

Speed Queen's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $1,199,663 – $1,983,000, with an initial franchise fee of $49,500 and a 4% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against other peers it sits in the bottom quartile (median $227,750).

How much profit does a Speed Queen franchise make?

Speed Queen discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (4% of gross for Speed Queen), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any Speed Queen franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate.

Does Speed Queen disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — Speed Queen reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly, so check Item 19 of the source FDD for the numbers.

Are there lawsuits against Speed Queen?

No — Speed Queen's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Speed Queen a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Speed Queen's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against other peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is low risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Speed Queen?

Get a free email when something changes on Speed Queen or other: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.