Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Rivali

Rivali franchise — is it worth it?

Automotive · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk

Rivali, Inc.

Everything below is free, read straight off Rivali's registered filing, with where the numbers land against automotive peers. Weighing Rivali against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$219,900 – $380,800
Below the automotive median · median $432,600
Initial franchise fee
$39,500
FDD Item 5
Royalty
6%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed

Figures above are as disclosed in Rivali's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-30861 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Rivali? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Rivali will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Rivali franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Rivali does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Rivali — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (49% of automotive franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Rivali's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Automotive franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Rivali lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Rivali's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Rivali closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Rivali will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Rivali's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a automotive of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Rivali's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns Rivali?

Rivali's franchise is offered by Rivali, Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Automotive franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Rivali is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Cornwell$174,380 – $320,680 · Item 19 disclosedVeron$149,250 – $377,650Mac Tools$137,885 – $418,385 · Item 19 disclosedIdeal Automotive Broker Franchising, LLC (Broker)$164,109 – $405,049Interstate All Battery Center$179,200 – $438,000Fleet Clean$188,350 – $459,000 · Item 19 disclosedWetFuel$172,000 – $490,500 · Item 19 disclosedJiffy Lube$211,000 – $510,000 · Item 19 disclosedSnap-on Tools$223,439 – $509,283 · Item 19 disclosedRent-n-Roll$703,561 – $1,687,275 · Item 19 disclosedSpeeDee Oil Change & Auto Service$708,057 – $2,284,321 · Item 19 disclosedQuality Tune-Up Shopsinvestment not disclosed

Rivali franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Rivali — who is the franchisor?

Rivali's most recently filed FDD (2024) names Rivali, Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Rivali franchise cost?

Rivali's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $219,900 – $380,800, with an initial franchise fee of $39,500 and a 6% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against automotive peers it sits in the upper quartile (median $432,600).

How much profit does a Rivali franchise make?

Rivali makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Rivali at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Rivali disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Rivali's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 49% of automotive franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Rivali?

No — Rivali's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Rivali a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Rivali's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against automotive peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Rivali?

Get a free email when something changes on Rivali or automotive: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.