Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Quality Tune-Up Shops

Quality Tune-Up Shops franchise — is it worth it?

Automotive · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk Growing network

Quality Tune-Up Shops operates in the Automotive category with a $25,000 franchise fee and a 10% royalty.

Everything below is free, read straight off Quality Tune-Up Shops's registered filing. Weighing Quality Tune-Up Shops against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
$25,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
10%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Outlet network
6 units
+1 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Quality Tune-Up Shops's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-27180 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Quality Tune-Up Shops? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Quality Tune-Up Shops will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Quality Tune-Up Shops franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Quality Tune-Up Shops does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Quality Tune-Up Shops — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (49% of automotive franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Quality Tune-Up Shops's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Automotive franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Quality Tune-Up Shops lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Quality Tune-Up Shops's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Quality Tune-Up Shops closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Quality Tune-Up Shops will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Quality Tune-Up Shops's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a automotive of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Quality Tune-Up Shops's latest tables show a growing franchised network. Net franchised outlets moved +1 to 6 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Quality Tune-Up Shops?

Quality Tune-Up Shops's franchise is offered by Tom McVey 2004 Quality Tune-up Shops, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other automotive franchises

Anyone weighing Quality Tune-Up Shops is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

10-4 Tow$4,250 – $17,400APLUS Area Representative$20,000 – $38,500Auto Appraisal Network$16,700 – $44,275ALSET Auto$102,744 – $178,994Auto Select$117,900 – $174,200Alloy Wheel Repair Specialists$99,000 – $273,500 · Item 19 disclosedRivali$219,900 – $380,800Auto-Lab Complete Care Care Centers (Unit)$296,750 – $746,000 · Item 19 disclosed1-800-Radiator & A/C$463,500 – $1,314,000 · Item 19 disclosedPriceless Car and Truck Rental$214,255 – $1,826,483 · Item 19 disclosedRent-n-Roll$703,561 – $1,687,275 · Item 19 disclosedPetro Stopping Centersinvestment not disclosed

Quality Tune-Up Shops franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Quality Tune-Up Shops — who is the franchisor?

Quality Tune-Up Shops's most recently filed FDD (2024) names Tom McVey 2004 Quality Tune-up Shops, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Quality Tune-Up Shops franchise cost?

Quality Tune-Up Shops's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7, with an initial franchise fee of $25,000 and a 10% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a Quality Tune-Up Shops franchise make?

Quality Tune-Up Shops makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Quality Tune-Up Shops at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Quality Tune-Up Shops disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Quality Tune-Up Shops's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 49% of automotive franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Quality Tune-Up Shops?

No — Quality Tune-Up Shops's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Quality Tune-Up Shops a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Quality Tune-Up Shops's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against automotive peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Quality Tune-Up Shops?

Get a free email when something changes on Quality Tune-Up Shops or automotive: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.