Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Mod Pizza

Mod Pizza franchise — is it worth it?

FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk Growing network

What Mod Pizza's most recent Franchise Disclosure Document says about the money, the litigation, and the franchisee churn — before you wire a five- or six-figure franchise fee.

Everything below is free, read straight off Mod Pizza's registered filing, with where the numbers land against category peers. Weighing Mod Pizza against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$1,001,223 – $1,301,134
Bottom quartile for other · median $227,750
Initial franchise fee
$30,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
—
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Closure rate
1.2%
FDD Item 20
Outlet network
87 units
+1 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Mod Pizza's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 32343-202409-05 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Mod Pizza? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Mod Pizza will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Mod Pizza franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Mod Pizza does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Mod Pizza — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing; the fees, litigation and outlet churn Mod Pizza's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Mod Pizza lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Mod Pizza's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Mod Pizza closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Mod Pizza will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Mod Pizza's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a franchise of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Mod Pizza's latest tables show a growing franchised network. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 1.2%. Net franchised outlets moved +1 to 87 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Mod Pizza?

Mod Pizza's franchise is offered by MOD SUPER FAST PIZZA FRANCHISING, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Franchises at a similar investment level at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Mod Pizza is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Mobility Plus Stores$183,295 – $328,595 · Item 19 disclosedMochinut$233,500 – $459,000Long John Silver's, Llc;$813,500 – $1,418,500Country Kitchen$565,000 – $1,674,000Play Street Museum$892,814 – $1,392,190 · Item 19 disclosedPet Suplies Plus$493,170 – $1,804,900 · Item 19 disclosedFive Guys$927,850 – $1,375,750Swig$608,400 – $1,718,000 · Item 19 disclosedStudio 6$200,000 – $2,150,000The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf$883,500 – $1,468,000 · Item 19 disclosedMonk's Bar and Grill®investment not disclosedMonster Mini Golfinvestment not disclosed

Mod Pizza franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Mod Pizza — who is the franchisor?

Mod Pizza's most recently filed FDD (2024) names MOD SUPER FAST PIZZA FRANCHISING, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Mod Pizza franchise cost?

Mod Pizza's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $1,001,223 – $1,301,134, with an initial franchise fee of $30,000. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against category peers it sits in the bottom quartile (median $227,750).

How much profit does a Mod Pizza franchise make?

Mod Pizza makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Mod Pizza at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Mod Pizza disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Mod Pizza's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing.

Are there lawsuits against Mod Pizza?

No — Mod Pizza's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Mod Pizza a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Mod Pizza's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against category peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Mod Pizza?

Get a free email when something changes on Mod Pizza or this category: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.