Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → HomeLife

HomeLife franchise — is it worth it?

Real estate · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk

HomeLife is a real estate franchise with a relatively low initial investment range of $34,200 to $110,000.

Everything below is free, read straight off HomeLife's registered filing, with where the numbers land against real estate peers. Weighing HomeLife against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$34,200 – $110,000
Top quartile for real estate · median $169,950
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
4%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3

Figures above are as disclosed in HomeLife's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-30716 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering HomeLife? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. HomeLife will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

HomeLife franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: HomeLife does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for HomeLife — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (22% of real estate franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn HomeLife's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Real estate franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

HomeLife lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

HomeLife's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against HomeLife itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

HomeLife closures & failure rate

Before you sign, HomeLife will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what HomeLife's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a real estate of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. HomeLife's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns HomeLife?

HomeLife's franchise is offered by HomeLife International Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Real estate franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing HomeLife is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

1st Class Real Estate$31,050 – $43,450Simply Full Service Reality$29,200 – $60,800Help-U-Sell Real Estate$29,650 – $67,650Infinium Realty Group$29,650 – $67,650Real Estate Solutions$54,366 – $71,266 · Item 19 disclosed1st Class Real Estate (Area Rep)$23,500 – $113,500 · Item 19 disclosedSperry Van Ness$33,780 – $129,310 · Item 19 disclosedCity2Shore$51,450 – $151,550All County$87,450 – $119,900 · Item 19 disclosedRealty World$18,600 – $195,000Howard Hanna Real Estate$45,000 – $258,500Harcourts Pacific$151,000 – $360,000

HomeLife franchise — frequently asked

Who owns HomeLife — who is the franchisor?

HomeLife's most recently filed FDD (2024) names HomeLife International Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a HomeLife franchise cost?

HomeLife's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $34,200 – $110,000 and a 4% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against real estate peers it sits in the top quartile (median $169,950).

How much profit does a HomeLife franchise make?

HomeLife makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for HomeLife at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does HomeLife disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — HomeLife's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 22% of real estate franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against HomeLife?

HomeLife's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against HomeLife itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is HomeLife a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from HomeLife's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against real estate peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching HomeLife?

Get a free email when something changes on HomeLife or real estate: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.