Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Hex Newco

Hex Newco franchise — is it worth it?

Retail · FDD-based assessment · registered 2023

High risk Significant turnover

HEX NEWCO, LLC is a retail franchise with an initial investment ranging from $170,000 to $267,700.

Everything below is free, read straight off Hex Newco's registered filing, with where the numbers land against retail peers. Weighing Hex Newco against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$170,000 – $267,700
Below the retail median · median $319,750
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Closure rate
22.4%
retail median 4.3%
Outlet network
49 units
-9 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Hex Newco's most recent FDD (registered 2023). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-25701 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Hex Newco? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Hex Newco will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Hex Newco franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Hex Newco does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Hex Newco — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (65% of retail franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Hex Newco's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Retail franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Hex Newco lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Hex Newco's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2023) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Hex Newco itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Hex Newco closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Hex Newco will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Hex Newco's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a retail of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Hex Newco's latest tables show significant franchisee turnover. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 22.4%, against a retail median of 4.3% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -9 to 49 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Hex Newco?

Hex Newco's franchise is offered by HEX NEWCO, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2023), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Retail franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Hex Newco is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Instant Imprints - Area Rep Program$82,800 – $96,500Goldmember, LLC (Crown Gold Exchange)$100,158 – $193,900 · Item 19 disclosedCrown Trophy$168,150 – $199,200Fastframe$135,325 – $246,663PayMore$138,750 – $268,500 · Item 19 disclosedReal Deals on Home Decor$144,350 – $272,400 · Item 19 disclosedDaaBIN Store$161,750 – $276,000 · Item 19 disclosedBobbles & Lace$163,175 – $300,000 · Item 19 disclosedSeason 2$188,559 – $276,059 · Item 19 disclosedThe Closet Trading Company$137,400 – $350,300 · Item 19 disclosedGame Castle$198,900 – $442,400 · Item 19 disclosedHobbyTown®/HobbyTown USA®$327,100 – $458,000 · Item 19 disclosed

Hex Newco franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Hex Newco — who is the franchisor?

Hex Newco's most recently filed FDD (2023) names HEX NEWCO, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Hex Newco franchise cost?

Hex Newco's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $170,000 – $267,700 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against retail peers it sits in the upper quartile (median $319,750).

How much profit does a Hex Newco franchise make?

Hex Newco makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Hex Newco at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Hex Newco disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Hex Newco's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 65% of retail franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Hex Newco?

Hex Newco's most recently filed FDD (2023) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Hex Newco itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Hex Newco a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Hex Newco's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against retail peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Hex Newco?

Get a free email when something changes on Hex Newco or retail: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.