Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop

Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop franchise — is it worth it?

Quick-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

Medium risk Shrinking network Item 19 disclosed

ERBERT AND GERBERT'S SANDWICH SHOP is a quick-service restaurant brand with a shrinking network and a history of franchisee-initiated litigation.

Everything below is free, read straight off Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop's registered filing. Weighing Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
$12,500
FDD Item 5
Royalty
6%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Disclosed
figure not machine-read
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Closure rate
3.6%
quick-service restaurant median 2.9%
Outlet network
55 units
-1 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 36447-202604-05 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

How much does a Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop franchise make?

Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly from this filing, so we don't print one; Item 19 of the source FDD has the tables. See every quick-service restaurant brand that discloses earnings in the Fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop's 6% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure.

Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a quick-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 3.6%, against a quick-service restaurant median of 2.9% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -1 to 55 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop?

Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop's franchise is offered by E & G FRANCHISE SYSTEMS, INC. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other quick-service restaurant franchises

Anyone weighing Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Al-Hamra$165,850 – $291,750Erik's DeliCafe$208,500 – $406,600 · Item 19 disclosedA.b.'s Smokehouse$382,000 – $678,000Adamson's (Unit)$318,900 – $787,720 · Item 19 disclosedAbu Omar Halal$362,100 – $797,000 · Item 19 disclosedAfuri Ramen + Dumpling$591,000 – $1,153,000Einstein Bros. Bagels, Noah's New York Bagels, Noah's Bagels$650,000 – $1,247,500 · Item 19 disclosedEpic Wings$564,950 – $1,465,432 · Item 19 disclosed5 Tacos and Beers$764,500 – $1,527,000 · Item 19 disclosedA&W; A&W Restaurants; A&W All American Food$894,130 – $1,640,034 · Item 19 disclosedAl Manakeeshinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedExtreme Pizzainvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop — who is the franchisor?

Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop's most recently filed FDD (2026) names E & G FRANCHISE SYSTEMS, INC. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop franchise cost?

Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7, with an initial franchise fee of $12,500 and a 6% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop franchise make?

Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (6% of gross for Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate.

Does Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly, so check Item 19 of the source FDD for the numbers.

Are there lawsuits against Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop?

Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against quick-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop?

Get a free email when something changes on Erbert and Gerbert's Sandwich Shop or quick-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.