Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Engel & Volkers

Engel & Volkers franchise — is it worth it?

Real estate · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

High risk Shrinking network

ENGEL & VOLKERS is a real estate franchise with an initial investment ranging from $108,690 to $340,592.

Everything below is free, read straight off Engel & Volkers's registered filing, with where the numbers land against real estate peers. Weighing Engel & Volkers against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$108,690 – $340,592
Above the real estate median · median $169,950
Initial franchise fee
$35,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5.5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Closure rate
11%
real estate median 6.3%
Outlet network
223 units
-14 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Engel & Volkers's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 37088-202607-03 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Engel & Volkers? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Engel & Volkers will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Engel & Volkers franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Engel & Volkers does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Engel & Volkers — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (22% of real estate franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Engel & Volkers's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Real estate franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Engel & Volkers lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Engel & Volkers's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Engel & Volkers itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Engel & Volkers closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Engel & Volkers will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Engel & Volkers's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a real estate of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Engel & Volkers's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 11%, against a real estate median of 6.3% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -14 to 223 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Engel & Volkers?

Engel & Volkers's franchise is offered by ENGEL & VOLKERS AMERICAS, INC. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Real estate franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Engel & Volkers is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

ERA$34,470 – $266,900Sotheby's International Realty$47,250 – $331,950KeyGlee Unit$122,300 – $296,550 · Item 19 disclosedCorcoran$62,150 – $365,200Weichert$77,300 – $359,800@properties$64,350 – $433,000Realty Executives$54,700 – $443,500Christie's International Real Estate$64,475 – $443,125Harcourts Pacific$151,000 – $360,000Market Center$182,430 – $335,697Epcon Communities$3,845,350 – $6,398,350Commercial Investors Groupinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

Engel & Volkers franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Engel & Volkers — who is the franchisor?

Engel & Volkers's most recently filed FDD (2026) names ENGEL & VOLKERS AMERICAS, INC. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Engel & Volkers franchise cost?

Engel & Volkers's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $108,690 – $340,592, with an initial franchise fee of $35,000 and a 5.5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against real estate peers it sits in the lower quartile (median $169,950).

How much profit does a Engel & Volkers franchise make?

Engel & Volkers makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Engel & Volkers at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Engel & Volkers disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Engel & Volkers's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 22% of real estate franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Engel & Volkers?

Engel & Volkers's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Engel & Volkers itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Engel & Volkers a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Engel & Volkers's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against real estate peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Engel & Volkers?

Get a free email when something changes on Engel & Volkers or real estate: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.