Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Coldwell Banker

Coldwell Banker franchise — is it worth it?

FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

High risk Shrinking network

Coldwell Banker is a real estate brokerage franchise with a $25,000 initial fee and a 6% ongoing fee burden.

Everything below is free, read straight off Coldwell Banker's registered filing. Weighing Coldwell Banker against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
$25,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5.5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Closure rate
3.7%
FDD Item 20
Outlet network
1,297 units
-12 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Coldwell Banker's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 640568 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Coldwell Banker? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Coldwell Banker will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Coldwell Banker franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Coldwell Banker does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Coldwell Banker — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing; the fees, litigation and outlet churn Coldwell Banker's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Coldwell Banker lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Coldwell Banker's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Coldwell Banker itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Coldwell Banker closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Coldwell Banker will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Coldwell Banker's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a franchise of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Coldwell Banker's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 3.7%. Net franchised outlets moved -12 to 1,297 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Coldwell Banker?

Coldwell Banker's franchise is offered by COLDWELL BANKER REAL ESTATE LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Coldwell Banker is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Coffee News$11,150 – $12,25030 Minute Hit$15,000 – $75,000Color Glo International$54,500 – $56,300 · Item 19 disclosedCode Ninjas$177,000 – $385,500 · Item 19 disclosed212 Contender eSports$195,980 – $406,030Color Me Mine$180,000 – $437,700 · Item 19 disclosed180 Water$186,111 – $712,6401-800-FLOWERS/1-800-FLOWERS.COM$258,500 – $932,5001-800-TEXTILES$358,200 – $939,000 · Item 19 disclosed2 Hours of Freedom$465,623 – $892,693 · Item 19 disclosed1-800-FLOWERSinvestment not disclosed1Heart Caregiver Servicesinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

Coldwell Banker franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Coldwell Banker — who is the franchisor?

Coldwell Banker's most recently filed FDD (2026) names COLDWELL BANKER REAL ESTATE LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Coldwell Banker franchise cost?

Coldwell Banker's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7, with an initial franchise fee of $25,000 and a 5.5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a Coldwell Banker franchise make?

Coldwell Banker makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Coldwell Banker at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Coldwell Banker disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Coldwell Banker's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing.

Are there lawsuits against Coldwell Banker?

Coldwell Banker's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Coldwell Banker itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Coldwell Banker a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Coldwell Banker's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against category peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Coldwell Banker?

Get a free email when something changes on Coldwell Banker or this category: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.