Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Card My Yard

Card My Yard franchise — is it worth it?

Other · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

Medium risk Shrinking network Item 19 disclosed

Card My Yard offers a unique, low-investment franchise opportunity in the 'Other' category.

Everything below is free, read straight off Card My Yard's registered filing, with where the numbers land against other peers. Weighing Card My Yard against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$10,350 – $18,550
Top quartile for other · median $227,750
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
25%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
$21,286
avg unit revenue, as disclosed
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Outlet network
490 units
-53 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Card My Yard's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 640874 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Card My Yard? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Card My Yard will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

How much does a Card My Yard franchise make?

Card My Yard is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The headline figure is $21,286 in average unit revenue — read it alongside what Item 19 says about which units it covers (often only mature or top-performing locations). See every other brand that discloses earnings in the Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

Card My Yard franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come Card My Yard's 25% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a Card My Yard franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "Card My Yard franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure. On $21,286 of revenue, a 25% royalty alone is about $5,322 a year before any other cost.

Card My Yard lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Card My Yard's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Card My Yard closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Card My Yard will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Card My Yard's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a other of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Card My Yard's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Net franchised outlets moved -53 to 490 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Card My Yard?

Card My Yard's franchise is offered by CMY Franchising, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Franchises at a similar investment level at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Card My Yard is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Coffee News$11,150 – $12,250Bubbles The Color Salon Standard$10,000 – $15,000 · Item 19 disclosedHair Cuttery Standard$10,000 – $15,000 · Item 19 disclosedBig O Tires (PDF)$6,000 – $20,000Green Mill Restaurants$10,000 – $17,000CruiseOne Dream Vacations$11,800 – $21,000Proforma$7,030 – $27,695Circle K$10,000 – $25,000Carl's Jr. (Nt)$57,000 – $97,000Caption by Hyattinvestment not disclosedCarbone's Pizzeria andinvestment not disclosedCarre d'artistesinvestment not disclosed

Card My Yard franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Card My Yard — who is the franchisor?

Card My Yard's most recently filed FDD (2026) names CMY Franchising, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Card My Yard franchise cost?

Card My Yard's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $10,350 – $18,550 and a 25% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against other peers it sits in the top quartile (median $227,750).

How much profit does a Card My Yard franchise make?

Card My Yard discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (25% of gross for Card My Yard), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any Card My Yard franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate. The headline figure Card My Yard discloses is $21,286 in average unit revenue.

Does Card My Yard disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — Card My Yard reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The headline figure is $21,286 in average unit revenue, as the franchisor states it.

Are there lawsuits against Card My Yard?

No — Card My Yard's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Card My Yard a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Card My Yard's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against other peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Card My Yard?

Get a free email when something changes on Card My Yard or other: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.