Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Baja Fresh

Baja Fresh franchise — is it worth it?

Quick-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

High risk Stable network

Baja Fresh is a quick-service restaurant franchise with an initial investment ranging from $428,560 to $1,034,290.

Everything below is free, read straight off Baja Fresh's registered filing, with where the numbers land against quick-service restaurant peers. Weighing Baja Fresh against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$428,560 – $1,034,290
Above the quick-service restaurant median · median $604,609
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
5 cases
in Item 3
Closure rate
3%
quick-service restaurant median 2.9%
Outlet network
67 units
flat last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Baja Fresh's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 640456 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Baja Fresh? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Baja Fresh will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Baja Fresh franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Baja Fresh does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Baja Fresh — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (56% of quick-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Baja Fresh's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Baja Fresh lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Baja Fresh's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose 5 legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Baja Fresh itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. 5 of those proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor — the split that actually matters, because franchisees suing their franchisor is the signal a buyer is looking for. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Baja Fresh closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Baja Fresh will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Baja Fresh's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a quick-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Baja Fresh's latest tables show a stable franchised network. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 3%, against a quick-service restaurant median of 2.9% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved 0 to 67 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Baja Fresh?

Baja Fresh's franchise is offered by BF Acquisition Holdings, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Quick-service restaurant franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Baja Fresh is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Atomic Wings (Unit)$119,950 – $515,937Baba Saj$351,500 – $555,500Barrio Burrito Bar$423,320 – $773,900Barberitos$505,500 – $720,000 · Item 19 disclosedEgg N Bird$506,000 – $920,000Mooyah$452,050 – $990,600 · Item 19 disclosedSteve's Pizza$471,000 – $980,000CHOP5$495,700 – $955,800 · Item 19 disclosedGanso Aburado USA$471,450 – $1,015,850Firehouse Subs® Restaurant$405,350 – $1,087,050 · Item 19 disclosedBeef-a-Roo$526,700 – $973,000 · Item 19 disclosedMcAlister's Deli$500,000 – $1,000,000 · Item 19 disclosed

Baja Fresh franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Baja Fresh — who is the franchisor?

Baja Fresh's most recently filed FDD (2026) names BF Acquisition Holdings, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Baja Fresh franchise cost?

Baja Fresh's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $428,560 – $1,034,290 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against quick-service restaurant peers it sits in the lower quartile (median $604,609).

How much profit does a Baja Fresh franchise make?

Baja Fresh makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Baja Fresh at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Baja Fresh disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Baja Fresh's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 56% of quick-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Baja Fresh?

Baja Fresh's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses 5 legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Baja Fresh itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing. 5 of the disclosed proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor.

Is Baja Fresh a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Baja Fresh's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against quick-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Baja Fresh?

Get a free email when something changes on Baja Fresh or quick-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.