Franchise Facts Report → compare → Pop-A-Lock vs America's Swimming Pool Company
Pop-A-Lock vs America's Swimming Pool Company
Two home services franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| Pop-A-Lock | America's Swimming Pool Company | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | $117,565 – $190,610 | $41,048 – $125,121 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | $23,000 | $40,000 |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | 7% | 7% |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | — | disclosed (not machine-read) |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 309 | 391 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | -63 | +16 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | — | 6.4% |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | 1 | disclosed |
| Risk level our read | High | Low |
| FDD year registration | 2026 | 2024 |
Are Pop-A-Lock and America's Swimming Pool Company the same company?
No — Pop-A-Lock and America's Swimming Pool Company are franchised by separate companies. Pop-A-Lock's franchisor is SystemForward America, LLC; America's Swimming Pool Company's is ASP FRANCHISING SPE LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
Cost to open
America's Swimming Pool Company is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $41,048 – $125,121, against $117,565 – $190,610 for Pop-A-Lock.
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Only America's Swimming Pool Company disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Pop-A-Lock's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Closures & failure rate
Pop-A-Lock reports 309 franchised outlets, net change -63 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). America's Swimming Pool Company reports 391 franchised outlets, net change +16 in the latest reported year, a 6.4% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate.
Litigation
Pop-A-Lock discloses 1 franchisee-vs-franchisor proceeding in FDD Item 3. America's Swimming Pool Company discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (each case is described there).
Deciding between Pop-A-Lock and America's Swimming Pool Company?
See what else fits before you choose. Tell us your budget and state and we'll send you the 5–10 home services franchises (or any industries you pick) with the strongest FDD record for it.
Pop-A-Lock vs America's Swimming Pool Company — frequently asked
Are Pop-A-Lock and America's Swimming Pool Company the same company?
No — Pop-A-Lock and America's Swimming Pool Company are franchised by separate companies. Pop-A-Lock's franchisor is SystemForward America, LLC; America's Swimming Pool Company's is ASP FRANCHISING SPE LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
What is the difference between Pop-A-Lock and America's Swimming Pool Company?
Pop-A-Lock and America's Swimming Pool Company are home services franchises from different franchisors (SystemForward America, LLC and ASP FRANCHISING SPE LLC). America's Swimming Pool Company is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $41,048 – $125,121, against $117,565 – $190,610 for Pop-A-Lock. Only America's Swimming Pool Company disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Pop-A-Lock's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Is Pop-A-Lock more profitable than America's Swimming Pool Company?
Only America's Swimming Pool Company disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Pop-A-Lock's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Which is cheaper to open — Pop-A-Lock or America's Swimming Pool Company?
America's Swimming Pool Company is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $41,048 – $125,121, against $117,565 – $190,610 for Pop-A-Lock.
Is Pop-A-Lock or America's Swimming Pool Company growing faster?
Pop-A-Lock reports 309 franchised outlets, net change -63 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). America's Swimming Pool Company reports 391 franchised outlets, net change +16 in the latest reported year, a 6.4% closure rate (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Home services rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Pop-A-Lock 2026, America's Swimming Pool Company 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.