Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → compare → CruiseOne vs Motel 6

CruiseOne vs Motel 6

Travel & hospitality · head-to-head from each brand's most recent FDD

Two travel & hospitality franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.

CruiseOneMotel 6
Total initial investment
FDD Item 7
$2,290 – $20,695 $195,259 – $1,470,540
Initial franchise fee
FDD Item 5
$10,500 —
Royalty
FDD Item 6
1.5% 5%
Item 19 earnings disclosed
FDD Item 19
Yes Not disclosed
Avg unit revenue (headline)
FDD Item 19
$511,424 —
Franchised outlets
FDD Item 20
2,515 1,206
Net outlet change (latest yr)
FDD Item 20
+339 -1
Closure rate
FDD Item 20
5.9% 3.4%
Franchisee lawsuits
FDD Item 3
0 disclosed
Risk level
our read
Low Medium
FDD year
registration
2026 2024

Are CruiseOne and Motel 6 the same company?

No — CruiseOne and Motel 6 are franchised by separate companies. CruiseOne's franchisor is CruiseOne, LLC; Motel 6's is G6 HOSPITALITY FRANCHISING LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

Cost to open

CruiseOne is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $2,290 – $20,695, against $195,259 – $1,470,540 for Motel 6.

How much does each make? (Item 19)

Only CruiseOne disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation (headline average unit revenue $511,424), while Motel 6's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Closures & failure rate

CruiseOne reports 2,515 franchised outlets, net change +339 in the latest reported year, a 5.9% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Motel 6 reports 1,206 franchised outlets, net change -1 in the latest reported year, a 3.4% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate.

Litigation

CruiseOne discloses no franchisee-initiated proceedings in FDD Item 3. Motel 6 discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (each case is described there).

Free · no obligation

Deciding between CruiseOne and Motel 6?

See what else fits before you choose. Tell us your budget and state and we'll send you the 5–10 travel & hospitality franchises (or any industries you pick) with the strongest FDD record for it.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

CruiseOne vs Motel 6 — frequently asked

Are CruiseOne and Motel 6 the same company?

No — CruiseOne and Motel 6 are franchised by separate companies. CruiseOne's franchisor is CruiseOne, LLC; Motel 6's is G6 HOSPITALITY FRANCHISING LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

What is the difference between CruiseOne and Motel 6?

CruiseOne and Motel 6 are travel & hospitality franchises from different franchisors (CruiseOne, LLC and G6 HOSPITALITY FRANCHISING LLC). CruiseOne is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $2,290 – $20,695, against $195,259 – $1,470,540 for Motel 6. Only CruiseOne disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation (headline average unit revenue $511,424), while Motel 6's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Is CruiseOne more profitable than Motel 6?

Only CruiseOne disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation (headline average unit revenue $511,424), while Motel 6's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Which is cheaper to open — CruiseOne or Motel 6?

CruiseOne is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $2,290 – $20,695, against $195,259 – $1,470,540 for Motel 6.

Is CruiseOne or Motel 6 growing faster?

CruiseOne reports 2,515 franchised outlets, net change +339 in the latest reported year, a 5.9% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Motel 6 reports 1,206 franchised outlets, net change -1 in the latest reported year, a 3.4% closure rate (FDD Item 20).

Go deeper on each brand

CruiseOne franchise facts$2,290 – $20,695 · low risk Motel 6 franchise facts$195,259 – $1,470,540 · medium risk

Travel & hospitality rankings

Best hotel, travel & hospitality franchises by the FDD numbersCheapest hotel, travel & hospitality franchises to openFastest-growing hotel, travel & hospitality franchisesHotel, travel & hospitality franchises ranked by average revenueHotel, travel & hospitality franchises with disclosed Item 19 earningsHotel, travel & hospitality franchises with the most franchisee lawsuitsLowest-churn hotel, travel & hospitality franchisesLowest-royalty hotel, travel & hospitality franchises

Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (CruiseOne 2026, Motel 6 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.