Franchise Facts Report → compare → Arthur Murray Dance Studio vs Body20
Arthur Murray Dance Studio vs Body20
Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| Arthur Murray Dance Studio | Body20 | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | $71,120 – $252,120 | $309,249 – $473,369 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | $100,000 | $65,000 |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | 5% | 8% |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | disclosed (not machine-read) | — |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 237 | 61 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | +7 | -2 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | 1.7% | 9.5% |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | disclosed | 5 |
| Risk level our read | Low | High |
| FDD year registration | 2025 | 2026 |
Are Arthur Murray Dance Studio and Body20 the same company?
No — Arthur Murray Dance Studio and Body20 are franchised by separate companies. Arthur Murray Dance Studio's franchisor is ARTHUR MURRAY INTERNATIONAL, INC.; Body20's is Body20 Franchisor LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
Cost to open
Arthur Murray Dance Studio is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $71,120 – $252,120, against $309,249 – $473,369 for Body20.
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Only Arthur Murray Dance Studio disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Body20's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Closures & failure rate
Arthur Murray Dance Studio reports 237 franchised outlets, net change +7 in the latest reported year, a 1.7% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Body20 reports 61 franchised outlets, net change -2 in the latest reported year, a 9.5% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate.
Litigation
Arthur Murray Dance Studio discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (each case is described there). Body20 discloses 5 franchisee-vs-franchisor proceedings in FDD Item 3.
Deciding between Arthur Murray Dance Studio and Body20?
See what else fits before you choose. Tell us your budget and state and we'll send you the 5–10 other franchises (or any industries you pick) with the strongest FDD record for it.
Arthur Murray Dance Studio vs Body20 — frequently asked
Are Arthur Murray Dance Studio and Body20 the same company?
No — Arthur Murray Dance Studio and Body20 are franchised by separate companies. Arthur Murray Dance Studio's franchisor is ARTHUR MURRAY INTERNATIONAL, INC.; Body20's is Body20 Franchisor LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
What is the difference between Arthur Murray Dance Studio and Body20?
Arthur Murray Dance Studio and Body20 are other franchises from different franchisors (ARTHUR MURRAY INTERNATIONAL, INC. and Body20 Franchisor LLC). Arthur Murray Dance Studio is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $71,120 – $252,120, against $309,249 – $473,369 for Body20. Only Arthur Murray Dance Studio disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Body20's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Is Arthur Murray Dance Studio more profitable than Body20?
Only Arthur Murray Dance Studio disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Body20's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Which is cheaper to open — Arthur Murray Dance Studio or Body20?
Arthur Murray Dance Studio is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $71,120 – $252,120, against $309,249 – $473,369 for Body20.
Is Arthur Murray Dance Studio or Body20 growing faster?
Arthur Murray Dance Studio reports 237 franchised outlets, net change +7 in the latest reported year, a 1.7% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Body20 reports 61 franchised outlets, net change -2 in the latest reported year, a 9.5% closure rate (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Other rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Arthur Murray Dance Studio 2025, Body20 2026). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.