Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Wing Zone

Wing Zone franchise — is it worth it?

Quick-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Low risk Significant turnover Item 19 disclosed

Wing Zone is a quick-service restaurant franchise with a disclosed Item 19, showing average annual gross sales of $826,058 across its system in 2023.

Everything below is free, read straight off Wing Zone's registered filing. Weighing Wing Zone against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
$40,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
6%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
$824,429
avg unit revenue, as disclosed
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Closure rate
25.9%
quick-service restaurant median 2.9%
Outlet network
30 units
+3 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Wing Zone's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-32576 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Wing Zone? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Wing Zone will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

How much does a Wing Zone franchise make?

Wing Zone is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The headline figure is $824,429 in average unit revenue — read it alongside what Item 19 says about which units it covers (often only mature or top-performing locations). See every quick-service restaurant brand that discloses earnings in the Fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

Wing Zone franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come Wing Zone's 6% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a Wing Zone franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "Wing Zone franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure. On $824,429 of revenue, a 6% royalty alone is about $49,466 a year before any other cost.

Wing Zone lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Wing Zone's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Wing Zone closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Wing Zone will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Wing Zone's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a quick-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Wing Zone's latest tables show significant franchisee turnover. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 25.9%, against a quick-service restaurant median of 2.9% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved +3 to 30 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Wing Zone?

Wing Zone's franchise is offered by WZ Franchise, LLC (Wing Zone) — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other quick-service restaurant franchises

Anyone weighing Wing Zone is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Al-Hamra$165,850 – $291,750A.b.'s Smokehouse$382,000 – $678,000Adamson's (Unit)$318,900 – $787,720 · Item 19 disclosedAbu Omar Halal$362,100 – $797,000 · Item 19 disclosedWING-STOP®$310,400 – $1,048,500 · Item 19 disclosedAfuri Ramen + Dumpling$591,000 – $1,153,0005 Tacos and Beers$764,500 – $1,527,000 · Item 19 disclosedA&W; A&W Restaurants; A&W All American Food$894,130 – $1,640,034 · Item 19 disclosedWild Eggs$686,350 – $2,252,550 · Item 19 disclosedWings and Rings$1,359,000 – $1,982,000 · Item 19 disclosedAl Manakeeshinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedWing Snobinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

Wing Zone franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Wing Zone — who is the franchisor?

Wing Zone's most recently filed FDD (2024) names WZ Franchise, LLC (Wing Zone) as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Wing Zone franchise cost?

Wing Zone's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7, with an initial franchise fee of $40,000 and a 6% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a Wing Zone franchise make?

Wing Zone discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (6% of gross for Wing Zone), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any Wing Zone franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate. The headline figure Wing Zone discloses is $824,429 in average unit revenue.

Does Wing Zone disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — Wing Zone reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The headline figure is $824,429 in average unit revenue, as the franchisor states it.

Are there lawsuits against Wing Zone?

No — Wing Zone's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Wing Zone a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Wing Zone's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against quick-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is low risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Wing Zone?

Get a free email when something changes on Wing Zone or quick-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.