Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → The Driveway Company

The Driveway Company franchise — is it worth it?

Home services · FDD-based assessment · registered 2023

Medium risk Growing network

The Driveway Company offers a home services franchise opportunity with an initial investment ranging from $88,765 to $168,980.

Everything below is free, read straight off The Driveway Company's registered filing, with where the numbers land against home services peers. Weighing The Driveway Company against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$88,765 – $168,980
Below the home services median · median $162,725
Initial franchise fee
$59,900
FDD Item 5
Royalty
7%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
1 case
in Item 3
Closure rate
4.2%
home services median 5.1%
Outlet network
36 units
+12 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in The Driveway Company's most recent FDD (registered 2023). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-26311 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering The Driveway Company? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. The Driveway Company will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

The Driveway Company franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: The Driveway Company does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for The Driveway Company — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (77% of home services franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn The Driveway Company's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Home services & home improvement franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

The Driveway Company lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

The Driveway Company's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2023) does disclose 1 legal proceeding in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against The Driveway Company itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

The Driveway Company closures & failure rate

Before you sign, The Driveway Company will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what The Driveway Company's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a home services of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. The Driveway Company's latest tables show a growing franchised network. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 4.2%, against a home services median of 5.1% — at or better than the category. Net franchised outlets moved +12 to 36 in the latest reported year.

Who owns The Driveway Company?

The Driveway Company's franchise is offered by TDC Franchising, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2023), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Home services franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing The Driveway Company is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

The Designery$4,895 – $5,395 · Item 19 disclosedThe Decor Group$38,750 – $130,750 · Item 19 disclosedSpringGreen$118,898 – $135,176 · Item 19 disclosedPremium$74,185 – $181,065Access Garage Doors$69,095 – $187,055 · Item 19 disclosedPest Hunters-Mosquito Hunters-Humbug Holiday Lighting$117,570 – $139,743 · Item 19 disclosedEverguard Repellent Pros$106,650 – $151,050 · Item 19 disclosedPatchitUP$108,750 – $153,000 · Item 19 disclosedSoftroc USA$85,975 – $175,950The Solar Detective$98,500 – $166,500 · Item 19 disclosedThe Garage Floor Company$131,506 – $249,882 · Item 19 disclosedThe Frontdoor Collective$125,375 – $465,770

The Driveway Company franchise — frequently asked

Who owns The Driveway Company — who is the franchisor?

The Driveway Company's most recently filed FDD (2023) names TDC Franchising, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a The Driveway Company franchise cost?

The Driveway Company's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $88,765 – $168,980, with an initial franchise fee of $59,900 and a 7% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against home services peers it sits in the upper quartile (median $162,725).

How much profit does a The Driveway Company franchise make?

The Driveway Company makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for The Driveway Company at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does The Driveway Company disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — The Driveway Company's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 77% of home services franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against The Driveway Company?

The Driveway Company's most recently filed FDD (2023) discloses 1 legal proceeding in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against The Driveway Company itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is The Driveway Company a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from The Driveway Company's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against home services peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching The Driveway Company?

Get a free email when something changes on The Driveway Company or home services: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.