Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE)

The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) franchise — is it worth it?

Beauty & personal care · FDD-based assessment · registered 2025

High risk Significant turnover

SMARTSTYLE is a beauty and personal care franchise with an initial investment ranging from $182,440 to $324,140.

Everything below is free, read straight off The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE)'s registered filing, with where the numbers land against beauty & personal care peers. Weighing The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$182,440 – $324,140
Top quartile for beauty & personal care · median $429,500
Initial franchise fee
$12,500
FDD Item 5
Royalty
—
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
1 case
in Item 3
Closure rate
16.2%
beauty & personal care median 1.8%
Outlet network
1,234 units
-239 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE)'s most recent FDD (registered 2025). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-33414 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE)? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (70% of beauty & personal care franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE)'s FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Salon, beauty & personal care franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE)'s most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025) does disclose 1 legal proceeding in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) closures & failure rate

Before you sign, The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE)'s most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a beauty & personal care of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE)'s latest tables show significant franchisee turnover. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 16.2%, against a beauty & personal care median of 1.8% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -239 to 1,234 in the latest reported year.

Beauty & personal care franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Lemon Tree$184,794 – $277,939 · Item 19 disclosedSugar Sugar$142,875 – $365,680 · Item 19 disclosedSupercuts$185,930 – $323,460 · Item 19 disclosedSmartstyle$184,440 – $336,340Cost Cutters$180,990 – $342,340 · Item 19 disclosedSharkey's Cuts for Kids$199,960 – $341,035 · Item 19 disclosedPigtails & Crewcuts$159,500 – $384,600 · Item 19 disclosedManCave$225,000 – $325,000 · Item 19 disclosedThe Barbershop a Hair Salon for Men$207,000 – $352,600 · Item 19 disclosedSit Still$166,600 – $422,800 · Item 19 disclosedThe LivBay Franchises$370,889 – $671,955Tan Republicinvestment not disclosed

The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) franchise — frequently asked

How much does a The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) franchise cost?

The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE)'s most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $182,440 – $324,140, with an initial franchise fee of $12,500. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against beauty & personal care peers it sits in the top quartile (median $429,500).

How much profit does a The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) franchise make?

The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE)'s most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 70% of beauty & personal care franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE)?

The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE)'s most recently filed FDD (2025) discloses 1 legal proceeding in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE)'s numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against beauty & personal care peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE)?

Get a free email when something changes on The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men Women, Inc.(SMARTSTYLE) or beauty & personal care: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.