Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Scottish Inn

Scottish Inn franchise — is it worth it?

Travel & hospitality · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

High risk Shrinking network

Scottish Inn is a travel and hospitality brand with a significant investment range of $1.4M to $5.3M.

Everything below is free, read straight off Scottish Inn's registered filing, with where the numbers land against travel & hospitality peers. Weighing Scottish Inn against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$1,396,700 – $5,268,700
At the travel & hospitality median · median $3,332,700
Initial franchise fee
$10,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
—
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
16 cases
in Item 3
Closure rate
0.9%
travel & hospitality median 4.1%
Outlet network
113 units
-4 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Scottish Inn's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-27291 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Scottish Inn? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Scottish Inn will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Scottish Inn franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Scottish Inn does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Scottish Inn — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (50% of travel & hospitality franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Scottish Inn's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Hotel, travel & hospitality franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Scottish Inn lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Scottish Inn's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) does disclose 16 legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Scottish Inn itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. 15 of those proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor — the split that actually matters, because franchisees suing their franchisor is the signal a buyer is looking for. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Scottish Inn closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Scottish Inn will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Scottish Inn's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a travel & hospitality of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Scottish Inn's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 0.9%, against a travel & hospitality median of 4.1% — at or better than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -4 to 113 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Scottish Inn?

Scottish Inn's franchise is offered by Hospitality International, Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it. The same franchisor files separate FDDs for other brands, which is worth knowing — sibling brands share a franchise-support organization but disclose their own numbers:

Scottish Inn, Red Carpet Inn, Master Host Innsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rate

Travel & hospitality franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Scottish Inn is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Sheenco Travel ®$32,600 – $50,860 · Item 19 disclosedRoseus Hospitality$71,800 – $175,600 · Item 19 disclosedTrend Hotels$272,500 – $2,947,000SureStay Collection by Best Western®$880,775 – $2,920,725Country Inn & Suites by Radisson$851,845 – $3,623,495 · Item 19 disclosedGarner$641,038 – $4,510,409BW Premier Collection;$442,540 – $6,890,025Guesthouse$573,945 – $7,331,895Spark by Hilton$3,251,531 – $5,906,193G6 Hospitality$200,000 – $9,700,000 · Item 19 disclosedRuby Hotels$8,001,423 – $38,474,439

Scottish Inn franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Scottish Inn — who is the franchisor?

Scottish Inn's most recently filed FDD (2024) names Hospitality International, Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. The same franchisor also files FDDs for Scottish Inn, Red Carpet Inn, Master Host Inn. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Scottish Inn franchise cost?

Scottish Inn's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $1,396,700 – $5,268,700, with an initial franchise fee of $10,000. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against travel & hospitality peers it sits in the upper quartile (median $3,332,700).

How much profit does a Scottish Inn franchise make?

Scottish Inn makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Scottish Inn at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Scottish Inn disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Scottish Inn's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 50% of travel & hospitality franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Scottish Inn?

Scottish Inn's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses 16 legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Scottish Inn itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing. 15 of the disclosed proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor.

Is Scottish Inn a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Scottish Inn's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against travel & hospitality peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Scottish Inn?

Get a free email when something changes on Scottish Inn or travel & hospitality: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.