Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Guesthouse

Guesthouse franchise — is it worth it?

Travel & hospitality · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

High risk Shrinking network

Guesthouse is a travel and hospitality brand with a substantial initial investment range of $573,945 to $7,331,895.

Everything below is free, read straight off Guesthouse's registered filing, with where the numbers land against travel & hospitality peers. Weighing Guesthouse against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$573,945 – $7,331,895
Above the travel & hospitality median · median $3,332,700
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
—
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
19 cases
in Item 3
Closure rate
7.1%
travel & hospitality median 4.1%
Outlet network
12 units
-2 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Guesthouse's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-27063 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Guesthouse? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Guesthouse will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Guesthouse franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Guesthouse does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Guesthouse — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (50% of travel & hospitality franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Guesthouse's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Hotel, travel & hospitality franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Guesthouse lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Guesthouse's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) does disclose 19 legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Guesthouse itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. 3 of those proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor — the split that actually matters, because franchisees suing their franchisor is the signal a buyer is looking for. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Guesthouse closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Guesthouse will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Guesthouse's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a travel & hospitality of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Guesthouse's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 7.1%, against a travel & hospitality median of 4.1% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -2 to 12 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Guesthouse?

Guesthouse's franchise is offered by Sonesta RL Hotels Franchising, Inc. (Guesthouse) — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Travel & hospitality franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Guesthouse is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Trend Hotels$272,500 – $2,947,000SureStay Collection by Best Western®$880,775 – $2,920,725Country Inn & Suites by Radisson$851,845 – $3,623,495 · Item 19 disclosedGarner$641,038 – $4,510,409Scottish Inn$1,396,700 – $5,268,700BW Premier Collection;$442,540 – $6,890,025Spark by Hilton$3,251,531 – $5,906,193G6 Hospitality$200,000 – $9,700,000 · Item 19 disclosedGrandStay Residential Suites$5,038,400 – $24,175,200Hampton Inn;$17,043,739 – $24,732,532Hilton Garden Inn$25,499,320 – $37,352,033 · Item 19 disclosedGreenTreeinvestment not disclosed

Guesthouse franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Guesthouse — who is the franchisor?

Guesthouse's most recently filed FDD (2024) names Sonesta RL Hotels Franchising, Inc. (Guesthouse) as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Guesthouse franchise cost?

Guesthouse's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $573,945 – $7,331,895. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against travel & hospitality peers it sits in the lower quartile (median $3,332,700).

How much profit does a Guesthouse franchise make?

Guesthouse makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Guesthouse at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Guesthouse disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Guesthouse's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 50% of travel & hospitality franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Guesthouse?

Guesthouse's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses 19 legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Guesthouse itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing. 3 of the disclosed proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor.

Is Guesthouse a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Guesthouse's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against travel & hospitality peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Guesthouse?

Get a free email when something changes on Guesthouse or travel & hospitality: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.