Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Pollo Campero

Pollo Campero franchise — is it worth it?

Quick-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2025

Low risk Growing network Item 19 disclosed

Pollo Campero is a quick-service restaurant brand with a substantial initial investment range of $1.5M to $3.7M.

Everything below is free, read straight off Pollo Campero's registered filing, with where the numbers land against quick-service restaurant peers. Weighing Pollo Campero against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$1,554,650 – $3,750,500
Bottom quartile for quick-service restaurant · median $604,609
Initial franchise fee
$40,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
$3,852,695
avg unit revenue, as disclosed
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Closure rate
0%
quick-service restaurant median 2.9%
Outlet network
15 units
+4 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Pollo Campero's most recent FDD (registered 2025). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-33058 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Pollo Campero? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Pollo Campero will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

How much does a Pollo Campero franchise make?

Pollo Campero is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The headline figure is $3,852,695 in average unit revenue — read it alongside what Item 19 says about which units it covers (often only mature or top-performing locations). See every quick-service restaurant brand that discloses earnings in the Fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

Pollo Campero franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come Pollo Campero's 5% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a Pollo Campero franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "Pollo Campero franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure. On $3,852,695 of revenue, a 5% royalty alone is about $192,635 a year before any other cost.

Pollo Campero lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Pollo Campero's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Pollo Campero closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Pollo Campero will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Pollo Campero's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a quick-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Pollo Campero's latest tables show a growing franchised network. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 0%, against a quick-service restaurant median of 2.9% — at or better than the category. Net franchised outlets moved +4 to 15 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Pollo Campero?

Pollo Campero's franchise is offered by Campero USA Corp. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Quick-service restaurant franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Pollo Campero is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Poki Bowl$187,750 – $423,523 · Item 19 disclosedPort of Subs$419,895 – $938,570 · Item 19 disclosedWendy's or$1,580,457 – $3,105,000 · Item 19 disclosedDave's Hot Chicken$823,800 – $4,121,900Panera Bread Bakery-Cafe$498,306 – $4,569,880 · Item 19 disclosedStreet Pizza$1,805,500 – $3,308,333Zaxby's$1,460,000 – $3,810,500 · Item 19 disclosedGreat American Buffet$1,061,000 – $4,500,000 · Item 19 disclosedHawaiian Bros Island Grill$1,402,536 – $4,163,150 · Item 19 disclosedBurger King$2,249,200 – $3,320,600 · Item 19 disclosedPokitomikinvestment not disclosedPopeyes Louisiana Kitcheninvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

Pollo Campero franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Pollo Campero — who is the franchisor?

Pollo Campero's most recently filed FDD (2025) names Campero USA Corp. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Pollo Campero franchise cost?

Pollo Campero's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $1,554,650 – $3,750,500, with an initial franchise fee of $40,000 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against quick-service restaurant peers it sits in the bottom quartile (median $604,609).

How much profit does a Pollo Campero franchise make?

Pollo Campero discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (5% of gross for Pollo Campero), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any Pollo Campero franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate. The headline figure Pollo Campero discloses is $3,852,695 in average unit revenue.

Does Pollo Campero disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — Pollo Campero reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The headline figure is $3,852,695 in average unit revenue, as the franchisor states it.

Are there lawsuits against Pollo Campero?

No — Pollo Campero's most recently filed FDD (2025) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Pollo Campero a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Pollo Campero's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against quick-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is low risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Pollo Campero?

Get a free email when something changes on Pollo Campero or quick-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.