Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Modo Yoga

Modo Yoga franchise — is it worth it?

Fitness · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

High risk Shrinking network

Modo Yoga is a fitness franchise with an initial investment ranging from $358,900 to $986,000.

Everything below is free, read straight off Modo Yoga's registered filing, with where the numbers land against fitness peers. Weighing Modo Yoga against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$358,900 – $986,000
Above the fitness median · median $490,037
Initial franchise fee
$25,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Closure rate
10%
fitness median 5.4%
Outlet network
9 units
-1 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Modo Yoga's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-31098 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Modo Yoga? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Modo Yoga will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Modo Yoga franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Modo Yoga does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Modo Yoga — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (60% of fitness franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Modo Yoga's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Gym & fitness franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Modo Yoga lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Modo Yoga's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Modo Yoga itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Modo Yoga closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Modo Yoga will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Modo Yoga's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a fitness of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Modo Yoga's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 10%, against a fitness median of 5.4% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -1 to 9 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Modo Yoga?

Modo Yoga's franchise is offered by Modo Yoga International, Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Fitness franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Modo Yoga is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Moms on the Run$13,900 – $21,105 · Item 19 disclosedMorning Management$211,003 – $325,542 · Item 19 disclosedSpenga$480,280 – $789,595 · Item 19 disclosedTitle Boxing Club® Fitness Studio$448,525 – $858,539Bodyrok$289,800 – $1,053,500RedLine Athletics$342,896 – $1,035,896 · Item 19 disclosedBasecamp; Basecamp Fitness$535,613 – $853,256True Movement$337,550 – $1,055,250Discover Strength$529,000 – $870,000 · Item 19 disclosedStrong Pilates$399,995 – $1,007,300 · Item 19 disclosedMaxStrength Fitnessinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedMayweather Boxing + Fitnessinvestment not disclosed

Modo Yoga franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Modo Yoga — who is the franchisor?

Modo Yoga's most recently filed FDD (2024) names Modo Yoga International, Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Modo Yoga franchise cost?

Modo Yoga's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $358,900 – $986,000, with an initial franchise fee of $25,000 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against fitness peers it sits in the lower quartile (median $490,037).

How much profit does a Modo Yoga franchise make?

Modo Yoga makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Modo Yoga at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Modo Yoga disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Modo Yoga's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 60% of fitness franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Modo Yoga?

Modo Yoga's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Modo Yoga itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Modo Yoga a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Modo Yoga's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against fitness peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Modo Yoga?

Get a free email when something changes on Modo Yoga or fitness: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.