Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Just Between Friends

Just Between Friends franchise — is it worth it?

FDD-based assessment · registered 2022

Medium risk Shrinking network Item 19 disclosed

What Just Between Friends's most recent Franchise Disclosure Document says about the money, the litigation, and the franchisee churn — before you wire a five- or six-figure franchise fee.

Everything below is free, read straight off Just Between Friends's registered filing, with where the numbers land against category peers. Weighing Just Between Friends against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$42,644 – $66,547
Top quartile for other · median $227,750
Initial franchise fee
$17,900
FDD Item 5
Royalty
3%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Disclosed
figure not machine-read
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Closure rate
0.6%
FDD Item 20
Outlet network
153 units
-2 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Just Between Friends's most recent FDD (registered 2022). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 23485-202204-02 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Just Between Friends? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Just Between Friends will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

How much does a Just Between Friends franchise make?

Just Between Friends is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly from this filing, so we don't print one; Item 19 of the source FDD has the tables. See every other brand that discloses earnings in the Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

Just Between Friends franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come Just Between Friends's 3% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a Just Between Friends franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "Just Between Friends franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure.

Just Between Friends lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Just Between Friends's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2022) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Just Between Friends itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Just Between Friends closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Just Between Friends will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Just Between Friends's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a franchise of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Just Between Friends's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 0.6%. Net franchised outlets moved -2 to 153 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Just Between Friends?

Just Between Friends's franchise is offered by Just Between Friends Franchise System, Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2022), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it. The same franchisor files separate FDDs for other brands, which is worth knowing — sibling brands share a franchise-support organization but disclose their own numbers:

Just Between Friendssame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rate

Franchises at a similar investment level at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Just Between Friends is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Bee Organized$40,100 – $68,760 · Item 19 disclosedThe Flower Garage$36,125 – $74,200Young Rembrandts$51,375 – $59,325 · Item 19 disclosedColor Glo International$54,500 – $56,300 · Item 19 disclosedMr. Sandless$27,810 – $83,060 · Item 19 disclosedThe Pickle Pad$53,500 – $58,500Hissho$23,850 – $88,950Make Your Dog Epic Dog Training Academy$49,500 – $63,500Junkluggers$96,010 – $359,160 · Item 19 disclosedJunk Start$134,464 – $335,565 · Item 19 disclosedK-9 Resorts Luxury Pet Hotel andinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedKahala Coffee Tradersinvestment not disclosed

Just Between Friends franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Just Between Friends — who is the franchisor?

Just Between Friends's most recently filed FDD (2022) names Just Between Friends Franchise System, Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. The same franchisor also files FDDs for Just Between Friends. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Just Between Friends franchise cost?

Just Between Friends's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $42,644 – $66,547, with an initial franchise fee of $17,900 and a 3% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against category peers it sits in the top quartile (median $227,750).

How much profit does a Just Between Friends franchise make?

Just Between Friends discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (3% of gross for Just Between Friends), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any Just Between Friends franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate.

Does Just Between Friends disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — Just Between Friends reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly, so check Item 19 of the source FDD for the numbers.

Are there lawsuits against Just Between Friends?

Just Between Friends's most recently filed FDD (2022) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Just Between Friends itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Just Between Friends a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Just Between Friends's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against category peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Just Between Friends?

Get a free email when something changes on Just Between Friends or this category: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.