Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Herlife

Herlife franchise — is it worth it?

Other · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk Stable network

HERLIFE Magazine offers a franchise opportunity in the 'Other' category with an initial investment between $55,000 and $100,000.

Everything below is free, read straight off Herlife's registered filing, with where the numbers land against other peers. Weighing Herlife against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$55,000 – $100,000
Top quartile for other · median $227,750
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
7%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Closure rate
0%
FDD Item 20
Outlet network
3 units
flat last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Herlife's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-30583 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Herlife? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Herlife will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Herlife franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Herlife does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Herlife — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing; the fees, litigation and outlet churn Herlife's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Herlife lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Herlife's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Herlife closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Herlife will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Herlife's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a other of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Herlife's latest tables show a stable franchised network. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 0%. Net franchised outlets moved 0 to 3 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Herlife?

Herlife's franchise is offered by HerLife Magazine, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Franchises at a similar investment level at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Herlife is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Tire Pros$11,995 – $136,745Complete Weddings + Events$68,800 – $80,750 · Item 19 disclosedCookie Cutters$60,000 – $90,000USL, Pro$50,000 – $100,000Carl's Jr. (Nt)$57,000 – $97,000Hardee's (Sla)$57,000 – $97,000 · Item 19 disclosedCool Vu Glass and Surface Solutions$58,450 – $96,850Yumberry Bowl$45,647 – $109,697Heroes Lawn Care$154,275 – $198,775 · Item 19 disclosedHerway$359,324 – $498,700 · Item 19 disclosedHeavyweight Waste$510,050 – $685,200Hawthorn, Hawthorn Suites, Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham, Hawthorn Extended Stay, and Hawthorn Extended Stay by Wyndhaminvestment not disclosed

Herlife franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Herlife — who is the franchisor?

Herlife's most recently filed FDD (2024) names HerLife Magazine, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Herlife franchise cost?

Herlife's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $55,000 – $100,000 and a 7% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against other peers it sits in the top quartile (median $227,750).

How much profit does a Herlife franchise make?

Herlife makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Herlife at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Herlife disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Herlife's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing.

Are there lawsuits against Herlife?

No — Herlife's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Herlife a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Herlife's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against other peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Herlife?

Get a free email when something changes on Herlife or other: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.