Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → ColorOnly

ColorOnly franchise — is it worth it?

Beauty & personal care · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk No franchised units open yet

ColorOnly | ColorOnly Express Salon operates in the beauty and personal care sector, requiring a 7% royalty and 2% ad fund contribution.

Everything below is free, read straight off ColorOnly's registered filing. Weighing ColorOnly against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
7%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed

Figures above are as disclosed in ColorOnly's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-28592 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering ColorOnly? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. ColorOnly will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

ColorOnly franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: ColorOnly does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for ColorOnly — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (70% of beauty & personal care franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn ColorOnly's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Salon, beauty & personal care franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

ColorOnly lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

ColorOnly's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

ColorOnly closures & failure rate

Before you sign, ColorOnly will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what ColorOnly's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a beauty & personal care of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. ColorOnly reports no franchised units open yet — there is no operating track record to churn.

Who owns ColorOnly?

ColorOnly's franchise is offered by ColorOnly Express Salons Franchise Company, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other beauty & personal care franchises

Anyone weighing ColorOnly is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Cookie Cutters Haircuts for Kids$60,000 – $90,000 · Item 19 disclosedBlonde Voyage Global$82,735 – $132,700After Glow Tanning & Beauty Bar$75,000 – $150,000 · Item 19 disclosedAvari Beauty$135,700 – $232,000Cost Cutters$180,990 – $342,340 · Item 19 disclosedBalensi Spa™$182,900 – $432,750 · Item 19 disclosedBishops, Bishops Cut/Color$323,442 – $494,293 · Item 19 disclosedAngels Spa$288,650 – $550,100bex+Co. Shared Workspace Salon$402,540 – $634,370 · Item 19 disclosedCherry Lash$462,585 – $587,500 · Item 19 disclosedBeauty Bungalows$765,400 – $1,705,500 · Item 19 disclosedClean Your Dirty Faceinvestment not disclosed

ColorOnly franchise — frequently asked

Who owns ColorOnly — who is the franchisor?

ColorOnly's most recently filed FDD (2024) names ColorOnly Express Salons Franchise Company, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a ColorOnly franchise cost?

ColorOnly's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7 and a 7% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a ColorOnly franchise make?

ColorOnly makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for ColorOnly at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does ColorOnly disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — ColorOnly's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 70% of beauty & personal care franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against ColorOnly?

No — ColorOnly's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is ColorOnly a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from ColorOnly's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against beauty & personal care peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching ColorOnly?

Get a free email when something changes on ColorOnly or beauty & personal care: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.