Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Chip Partners

Chip Partners franchise — is it worth it?

Food & beverage · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk

Chip Partners, LLC operates in the Food & Beverage sector, requiring an initial investment between $281,950 and $699,000.

Everything below is free, read straight off Chip Partners's registered filing, with where the numbers land against food & beverage peers. Weighing Chip Partners against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$281,950 – $699,000
Above the food & beverage median · median $379,725
Initial franchise fee
$40,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
6%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed

Figures above are as disclosed in Chip Partners's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-27096 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Chip Partners? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Chip Partners will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Chip Partners franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Chip Partners does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Chip Partners — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Chip Partners's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Food & beverage franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Chip Partners lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Chip Partners's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Chip Partners closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Chip Partners will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Chip Partners's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a food & beverage of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Chip Partners's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns Chip Partners?

Chip Partners's franchise is offered by Chip Partners, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Food & beverage franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Chip Partners is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Chocolate Bash$198,400 – $380,000Chocolate Fish Roasters$244,200 – $435,700 · Item 19 disclosedChi Tea$230,542 – $478,667 · Item 19 disclosedChicha San Chen$364,000 – $547,000Taste Buds Kitchen$425,750 – $549,650 · Item 19 disclosedPappalecco$343,000 – $636,500 · Item 19 disclosedWaffle Love$311,800 – $674,700 · Item 19 disclosedPinkberry$303,440 – $684,050 · Item 19 disclosedEgg on a Roll$416,900 – $570,668Antioch Pizza Shop$232,650 – $756,525 · Item 19 disclosedPaulie Gee's$255,500 – $735,000Dessert Mango Mango$395,450 – $596,200 · Item 19 disclosed

Chip Partners franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Chip Partners — who is the franchisor?

Chip Partners's most recently filed FDD (2024) names Chip Partners, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Chip Partners franchise cost?

Chip Partners's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $281,950 – $699,000, with an initial franchise fee of $40,000 and a 6% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against food & beverage peers it sits in the lower quartile (median $379,725).

How much profit does a Chip Partners franchise make?

Chip Partners makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Chip Partners at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Chip Partners disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Chip Partners's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Chip Partners?

No — Chip Partners's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Chip Partners a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Chip Partners's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against food & beverage peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Chip Partners?

Get a free email when something changes on Chip Partners or food & beverage: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.