Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Buffalo Spot

Buffalo Spot franchise — is it worth it?

Quick-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Low risk Growing network Item 19 disclosed

Buffalo Spot is a quick-service restaurant franchise that provides Item 19 financial performance representations, a positive indicator of transparency.

Everything below is free, read straight off Buffalo Spot's registered filing. Weighing Buffalo Spot against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
$45,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Disclosed
figure not machine-read
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Closure rate
0%
quick-service restaurant median 2.9%
Outlet network
30 units
+1 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Buffalo Spot's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-27239 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Buffalo Spot? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Buffalo Spot will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

How much does a Buffalo Spot franchise make?

Buffalo Spot is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly from this filing, so we don't print one; Item 19 of the source FDD has the tables. See every quick-service restaurant brand that discloses earnings in the Fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

Buffalo Spot franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come Buffalo Spot's 5% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a Buffalo Spot franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "Buffalo Spot franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure.

Buffalo Spot lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Buffalo Spot's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Buffalo Spot itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Buffalo Spot closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Buffalo Spot will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Buffalo Spot's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a quick-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Buffalo Spot's latest tables show a growing franchised network. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 0%, against a quick-service restaurant median of 2.9% — at or better than the category. Net franchised outlets moved +1 to 30 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Buffalo Spot?

Buffalo Spot's franchise is offered by The Buffalo Spot Global, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other quick-service restaurant franchises

Anyone weighing Buffalo Spot is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Al-Hamra$165,850 – $291,750Brooks Burgers$10,920 – $583,500A.b.'s Smokehouse$382,000 – $678,000Adamson's (Unit)$318,900 – $787,720 · Item 19 disclosedBubbakoo's Burritos$356,000 – $757,000 · Item 19 disclosedAbu Omar Halal$362,100 – $797,000 · Item 19 disclosedAfuri Ramen + Dumpling$591,000 – $1,153,0005 Tacos and Beers$764,500 – $1,527,000 · Item 19 disclosedA&W; A&W Restaurants; A&W All American Food$894,130 – $1,640,034 · Item 19 disclosedBuona$3,904,203 – $5,841,375 · Item 19 disclosedAl Manakeeshinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedBuffalo Wild Wings GOinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

Buffalo Spot franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Buffalo Spot — who is the franchisor?

Buffalo Spot's most recently filed FDD (2024) names The Buffalo Spot Global, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Buffalo Spot franchise cost?

Buffalo Spot's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7, with an initial franchise fee of $45,000 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a Buffalo Spot franchise make?

Buffalo Spot discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (5% of gross for Buffalo Spot), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any Buffalo Spot franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate.

Does Buffalo Spot disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — Buffalo Spot reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly, so check Item 19 of the source FDD for the numbers.

Are there lawsuits against Buffalo Spot?

Buffalo Spot's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Buffalo Spot itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Buffalo Spot a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Buffalo Spot's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against quick-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is low risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Buffalo Spot?

Get a free email when something changes on Buffalo Spot or quick-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.