Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Boba Time

Boba Time franchise — is it worth it?

Food & beverage · FDD-based assessment · registered 2024

Medium risk

Boba Time is a food & beverage franchise with a low initial investment range of $4,000-$5,000, plus a $45,000 franchise fee.

Everything below is free, read straight off Boba Time's registered filing, with where the numbers land against food & beverage peers. Weighing Boba Time against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$4,000 – $5,000
Top quartile for food & beverage · median $379,725
Initial franchise fee
$45,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3

Figures above are as disclosed in Boba Time's most recent FDD (registered 2024). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-31242 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Boba Time? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Boba Time will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Boba Time franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Boba Time does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Boba Time — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Boba Time's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Food & beverage franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Boba Time lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Boba Time's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Boba Time itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Boba Time closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Boba Time will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Boba Time's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a food & beverage of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Boba Time's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns Boba Time?

Boba Time's franchise is offered by Boba Time, Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2024), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Food & beverage franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Boba Time is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Bento Sushi$1,600 – $7,000Three Dog Bakery$3,000 – $6,000 · Item 19 disclosedClementine's Ice Cream$4,580 – $6,100 · Item 19 disclosedWANPO$3,500 – $10,000Mountain Man Nut + Fruit Co.$15,360 – $16,100Wiki-Licious$9,510 – $29,650Canteen$8,350 – $41,000 · Item 19 disclosedWaters Edge Winery$25,000 – $28,000 · Item 19 disclosedBobablastic$64,000 – $122,800Boba Pub$213,500 – $451,000Boba Nation$350,000 – $495,000Bobae Global$335,500 – $583,500

Boba Time franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Boba Time — who is the franchisor?

Boba Time's most recently filed FDD (2024) names Boba Time, Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Boba Time franchise cost?

Boba Time's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $4,000 – $5,000, with an initial franchise fee of $45,000 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against food & beverage peers it sits in the top quartile (median $379,725).

How much profit does a Boba Time franchise make?

Boba Time makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Boba Time at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Boba Time disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Boba Time's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Boba Time?

Boba Time's most recently filed FDD (2024) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Boba Time itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Boba Time a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Boba Time's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against food & beverage peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Boba Time?

Get a free email when something changes on Boba Time or food & beverage: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.