Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → BFT

BFT franchise — is it worth it?

Fitness · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

High risk Significant turnover Item 19 disclosed

BFT is a fitness franchise with a disclosed average gross revenue of $399,433 for its qualified studios.

Everything below is free, read straight off BFT's registered filing. Weighing BFT against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
$50,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
7%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
$399,433
avg unit revenue, as disclosed
Litigation (Item 3)
10 cases
in Item 3
Closure rate
26.5%
fitness median 5.4%
Outlet network
44 units
-5 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in BFT's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 37133-202608-03 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering BFT? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. BFT will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

How much does a BFT franchise make?

BFT is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The headline figure is $399,433 in average unit revenue — read it alongside what Item 19 says about which units it covers (often only mature or top-performing locations). See every fitness brand that discloses earnings in the Gym & fitness franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

BFT franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come BFT's 7% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a BFT franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "BFT franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure. On $399,433 of revenue, a 7% royalty alone is about $27,960 a year before any other cost.

BFT lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

BFT's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose 10 legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against BFT itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. 9 of those proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor — the split that actually matters, because franchisees suing their franchisor is the signal a buyer is looking for. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

BFT closures & failure rate

Before you sign, BFT will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what BFT's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a fitness of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. BFT's latest tables show significant franchisee turnover. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 26.5%, against a fitness median of 5.4% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -5 to 44 in the latest reported year.

Who owns BFT?

BFT's franchise is offered by BFT Franchise SPV, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other fitness franchises

Anyone weighing BFT is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Aira Fitness$49,274 – $237,825 · Item 19 disclosed9Round$160,449 – $390,300Blueprint LA$224,870 – $442,372AKT$395,616 – $570,516 · Item 19 disclosedAnother Nine$310,205 – $797,010 · Item 19 disclosedbarre3$423,925 – $754,350 · Item 19 disclosedBasecamp; Basecamp Fitness$535,613 – $853,256Anytime Fitness$539,329 – $905,482 · Item 19 disclosedBig Blue Swim School®$1,898,350 – $3,478,100 · Item 19 disclosedBig Air Trampoline Park$2,511,500 – $4,570,000 · Item 19 disclosedAthletic Republicinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedBaby Boot Campinvestment not disclosed

BFT franchise — frequently asked

Who owns BFT — who is the franchisor?

BFT's most recently filed FDD (2026) names BFT Franchise SPV, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a BFT franchise cost?

BFT's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7, with an initial franchise fee of $50,000 and a 7% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a BFT franchise make?

BFT discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (7% of gross for BFT), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any BFT franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate. The headline figure BFT discloses is $399,433 in average unit revenue.

Does BFT disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — BFT reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The headline figure is $399,433 in average unit revenue, as the franchisor states it.

Are there lawsuits against BFT?

BFT's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses 10 legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against BFT itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing. 9 of the disclosed proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor.

Is BFT a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from BFT's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against fitness peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching BFT?

Get a free email when something changes on BFT or fitness: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.