Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Bearfruit

Bearfruit franchise — is it worth it?

Retail · FDD-based assessment · registered 2023

Medium risk

Bearfruit Franchise Corporation offers a retail franchise opportunity with an initial investment ranging from $231,200 to $515,000.

Everything below is free, read straight off Bearfruit's registered filing, with where the numbers land against retail peers. Weighing Bearfruit against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$231,200 – $515,000
Above the retail median · median $319,750
Initial franchise fee
$40,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
1 case
in Item 3

Figures above are as disclosed in Bearfruit's most recent FDD (registered 2023). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-27393 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Bearfruit? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Bearfruit will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Bearfruit franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Bearfruit does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Bearfruit — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (65% of retail franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Bearfruit's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Retail franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Bearfruit lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Bearfruit's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2023) does disclose 1 legal proceeding in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Bearfruit itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Bearfruit closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Bearfruit will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Bearfruit's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a retail of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Bearfruit's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns Bearfruit?

Bearfruit's franchise is offered by Bearfruit Franchise Corporation — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2023), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Retail franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Bearfruit is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Big Frog Custom T-Shirts$157,952 – $375,768 · Item 19 disclosedOnce Upon a Child$287,800 – $420,800 · Item 19 disclosedStonePeak Ceramics$142,852 – $583,475Verlo Mattress$197,611 – $539,920 · Item 19 disclosedClothes Mentor$308,000 – $431,500 · Item 19 disclosedFleet Feet$228,500 – $545,000 · Item 19 disclosedPro Image Sports$153,800 – $620,500 · Item 19 disclosedMusic Go Round$335,300 – $443,700 · Item 19 disclosedHobbyTown®/HobbyTown USA®$327,100 – $458,000 · Item 19 disclosedBatteries Plus$284,786 – $536,636 · Item 19 disclosedApricot Laneinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedBella Bridesmaidsinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

Bearfruit franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Bearfruit — who is the franchisor?

Bearfruit's most recently filed FDD (2023) names Bearfruit Franchise Corporation as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Bearfruit franchise cost?

Bearfruit's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $231,200 – $515,000, with an initial franchise fee of $40,000 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against retail peers it sits in the lower quartile (median $319,750).

How much profit does a Bearfruit franchise make?

Bearfruit makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Bearfruit at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Bearfruit disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Bearfruit's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 65% of retail franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Bearfruit?

Bearfruit's most recently filed FDD (2023) discloses 1 legal proceeding in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Bearfruit itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Bearfruit a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Bearfruit's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against retail peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Bearfruit?

Get a free email when something changes on Bearfruit or retail: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.