Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → ATAX (Area Representative)

ATAX (Area Representative) franchise — is it worth it?

FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

Medium risk Shrinking network

ATAX (Area Representative) offers a tax preparation and business services franchise opportunity with an initial investment ranging from $101,450 to $524,000.

Everything below is free, read straight off ATAX (Area Representative)'s registered filing, with where the numbers land against category peers. Weighing ATAX (Area Representative) against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$101,450 – $524,000
Above the other median · median $227,750
Initial franchise fee
$100,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
50%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Outlet network
32 units
-4 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in ATAX (Area Representative)'s most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 641358 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering ATAX (Area Representative)? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. ATAX (Area Representative) will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

ATAX (Area Representative) franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: ATAX (Area Representative) does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for ATAX (Area Representative) — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing; the fees, litigation and outlet churn ATAX (Area Representative)'s FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

ATAX (Area Representative) lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

ATAX (Area Representative)'s most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against ATAX (Area Representative) itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

ATAX (Area Representative) closures & failure rate

Before you sign, ATAX (Area Representative) will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what ATAX (Area Representative)'s most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a franchise of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. ATAX (Area Representative)'s latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Net franchised outlets moved -4 to 32 in the latest reported year.

Who owns ATAX (Area Representative)?

ATAX (Area Representative)'s franchise is offered by ATAX LLC d/b/a ATAX — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it. The same franchisor files separate FDDs for other brands, which is worth knowing — sibling brands share a franchise-support organization but disclose their own numbers:

ATAX (Unit)same franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rate

Franchises at a similar investment level at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing ATAX (Area Representative) is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Archive Contents Restoration$73,650 – $200,850Arthur Murray Dance Studio$71,120 – $252,120 · Item 19 disclosedVessel USA, LLC (Franchise Lite)$288,930 – $327,038Shah's Halal$207,000 – $410,000 · Item 19 disclosedColor Me Mine$180,000 – $437,700 · Item 19 disclosedBimbo Foods Bakeries Distribution or BFBD$14,150 – $606,700Cookie Co.$162,500 – $460,000Snap Fitness$144,798 – $478,762Pi Kitchen & Bath Shop$196,800 – $429,000 · Item 19 disclosedRobotLAB Corp and$156,755 – $470,765Athletes HQinvestment not disclosedAugmentinvestment not disclosed

ATAX (Area Representative) franchise — frequently asked

Who owns ATAX (Area Representative) — who is the franchisor?

ATAX (Area Representative)'s most recently filed FDD (2026) names ATAX LLC d/b/a ATAX as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. The same franchisor also files FDDs for ATAX (Unit). A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a ATAX (Area Representative) franchise cost?

ATAX (Area Representative)'s most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $101,450 – $524,000, with an initial franchise fee of $100,000 and a 50% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against category peers it sits in the lower quartile (median $227,750).

How much profit does a ATAX (Area Representative) franchise make?

ATAX (Area Representative) makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for ATAX (Area Representative) at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does ATAX (Area Representative) disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — ATAX (Area Representative)'s most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing.

Are there lawsuits against ATAX (Area Representative)?

ATAX (Area Representative)'s most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against ATAX (Area Representative) itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is ATAX (Area Representative) a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from ATAX (Area Representative)'s numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against category peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching ATAX (Area Representative)?

Get a free email when something changes on ATAX (Area Representative) or this category: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.