Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Angry Crab Shack

Angry Crab Shack franchise — is it worth it?

FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

Medium risk Growing network

What Angry Crab Shack's most recent Franchise Disclosure Document says about the money, the litigation, and the franchisee churn — before you wire a five- or six-figure franchise fee.

Everything below is free, read straight off Angry Crab Shack's registered filing, with where the numbers land against category peers. Weighing Angry Crab Shack against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$421,800 – $1,203,800
Bottom quartile for other · median $227,750
Initial franchise fee
$50,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Closure rate
0%
FDD Item 20
Outlet network
19 units
+1 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Angry Crab Shack's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 37076-202607-03 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Angry Crab Shack? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Angry Crab Shack will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Angry Crab Shack franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Angry Crab Shack does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Angry Crab Shack — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing; the fees, litigation and outlet churn Angry Crab Shack's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Angry Crab Shack lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Angry Crab Shack's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Angry Crab Shack itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Angry Crab Shack closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Angry Crab Shack will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Angry Crab Shack's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a franchise of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Angry Crab Shack's latest tables show a growing franchised network. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 0%. Net franchised outlets moved +1 to 19 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Angry Crab Shack?

Angry Crab Shack's franchise is offered by ANGRY CRAB SHACK FRANCHISE, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it. The same franchisor files separate FDDs for other brands, which is worth knowing — sibling brands share a franchise-support organization but disclose their own numbers:

Angry Crab Shacksame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rate

Franchises at a similar investment level at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Angry Crab Shack is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

AMH Enterprises$52,200 – $149,700Apex Fun Run$86,000 – $134,700 · Item 19 disclosedAmramp$130,785 – $211,345 · Item 19 disclosedAnytime Fitness;$397,516 – $973,121X-Golf$578,200 – $965,000CAPRIOTTI’S SANDWICH SHOP® and CAPRIOTTI’S®$604,700 – $945,000 · Item 19 disclosedRelive$501,250 – $1,052,542Vital Care$555,750 – $1,005,735 · Item 19 disclosedSavvy Sliders$587,833 – $1,071,500Motel 6$195,259 – $1,470,540A4 Entertainment$705,250 – $970,500Montessori Kids Universe$562,218 – $1,139,058 · Item 19 disclosed

Angry Crab Shack franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Angry Crab Shack — who is the franchisor?

Angry Crab Shack's most recently filed FDD (2026) names ANGRY CRAB SHACK FRANCHISE, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. The same franchisor also files FDDs for Angry Crab Shack. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Angry Crab Shack franchise cost?

Angry Crab Shack's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $421,800 – $1,203,800, with an initial franchise fee of $50,000 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against category peers it sits in the bottom quartile (median $227,750).

How much profit does a Angry Crab Shack franchise make?

Angry Crab Shack makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Angry Crab Shack at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Angry Crab Shack disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Angry Crab Shack's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing.

Are there lawsuits against Angry Crab Shack?

Angry Crab Shack's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Angry Crab Shack itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Angry Crab Shack a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Angry Crab Shack's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against category peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Angry Crab Shack?

Get a free email when something changes on Angry Crab Shack or this category: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.