Franchise Facts Report → compare → Motel 6 vs Studio 6
Motel 6 vs Studio 6
Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| Motel 6 | Studio 6 | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | $195,259 – $1,470,540 | $200,000 – $2,150,000 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | — | — |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | 5% | 5% |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | — | — |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 1,206 | 236 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | -1 | +17 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | 3.4% | 3.7% |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | disclosed | disclosed |
| Risk level our read | Medium | Medium |
| FDD year registration | 2024 | 2026 |
Are Motel 6 and Studio 6 the same company?
Yes — for franchising purposes they are the same company. G6 HOSPITALITY FRANCHISING LLC is named as the franchisor on the most recent FDD for both Motel 6 and Studio 6, so you would sign your franchise agreement with the same entity either way. They remain two separate offerings with their own investment ranges, fees and outlet counts — those differences are in the table above.
Cost to open
Motel 6 is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $195,259 – $1,470,540, against $200,000 – $2,150,000 for Studio 6.
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Neither Motel 6 nor Studio 6 makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Closures & failure rate
Motel 6 reports 1,206 franchised outlets, net change -1 in the latest reported year, a 3.4% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Studio 6 reports 236 franchised outlets, net change +17 in the latest reported year, a 3.7% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate.
Litigation
Motel 6 discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (each case is described there). Studio 6 discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (each case is described there).
Deciding between Motel 6 and Studio 6?
See what else fits before you choose. Tell us your budget and state and we'll send you the 5–10 other franchises (or any industries you pick) with the strongest FDD record for it.
Motel 6 vs Studio 6 — frequently asked
Are Motel 6 and Studio 6 the same company?
Yes — for franchising purposes they are the same company. G6 HOSPITALITY FRANCHISING LLC is named as the franchisor on the most recent FDD for both Motel 6 and Studio 6, so you would sign your franchise agreement with the same entity either way. They remain two separate offerings with their own investment ranges, fees and outlet counts — those differences are in the table above.
What is the difference between Motel 6 and Studio 6?
Motel 6 and Studio 6 are two offerings from one franchisor, G6 HOSPITALITY FRANCHISING LLC. Motel 6 is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $195,259 – $1,470,540, against $200,000 – $2,150,000 for Studio 6. Neither Motel 6 nor Studio 6 makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Is Motel 6 more profitable than Studio 6?
Neither Motel 6 nor Studio 6 makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Which is cheaper to open — Motel 6 or Studio 6?
Motel 6 is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $195,259 – $1,470,540, against $200,000 – $2,150,000 for Studio 6.
Is Motel 6 or Studio 6 growing faster?
Motel 6 reports 1,206 franchised outlets, net change -1 in the latest reported year, a 3.4% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Studio 6 reports 236 franchised outlets, net change +17 in the latest reported year, a 3.7% closure rate (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Other rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Motel 6 2024, Studio 6 2026). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.