Franchise Facts Report → compare → Image Studios vs Hammer & Nails (Unit)
Image Studios vs Hammer & Nails (Unit)
Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| Image Studios | Hammer & Nails (Unit) | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | — | $425,205 – $686,200 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | $64,500 | $49,950 |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | — | 6% |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | — | disclosed (not machine-read) |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 68 | 21 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | +31 | +6 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | — | 0% |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | 0 | 0 |
| Risk level our read | Medium | Low |
| FDD year registration | 2024 | 2023 |
Are Image Studios and Hammer & Nails (Unit) the same company?
No — Image Studios and Hammer & Nails (Unit) are franchised by separate companies. Image Studios's franchisor is Image Studios Franchise, LLC; Hammer & Nails (Unit)'s is The Hammer & Nails Salon Group, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
Cost to open
Both brands disclose their total initial investment in FDD Item 7: see FDD for Image Studios, $425,205 – $686,200 for Hammer & Nails (Unit).
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Only Hammer & Nails (Unit) disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Image Studios's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Closures & failure rate
Image Studios reports 68 franchised outlets, net change +31 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Hammer & Nails (Unit) reports 21 franchised outlets, net change +6 in the latest reported year, a 0% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate.
Litigation
Image Studios discloses no franchisee-initiated proceedings in FDD Item 3. Hammer & Nails (Unit) discloses no franchisee-initiated proceedings in FDD Item 3.
Deciding between Image Studios and Hammer & Nails (Unit)?
See what else fits before you choose. Tell us your budget and state and we'll send you the 5–10 other franchises (or any industries you pick) with the strongest FDD record for it.
Image Studios vs Hammer & Nails (Unit) — frequently asked
Are Image Studios and Hammer & Nails (Unit) the same company?
No — Image Studios and Hammer & Nails (Unit) are franchised by separate companies. Image Studios's franchisor is Image Studios Franchise, LLC; Hammer & Nails (Unit)'s is The Hammer & Nails Salon Group, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
What is the difference between Image Studios and Hammer & Nails (Unit)?
Image Studios and Hammer & Nails (Unit) are other franchises from different franchisors (Image Studios Franchise, LLC and The Hammer & Nails Salon Group, LLC). Both brands disclose their total initial investment in FDD Item 7: see FDD for Image Studios, $425,205 – $686,200 for Hammer & Nails (Unit). Only Hammer & Nails (Unit) disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Image Studios's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Is Image Studios more profitable than Hammer & Nails (Unit)?
Only Hammer & Nails (Unit) disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Image Studios's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Which is cheaper to open — Image Studios or Hammer & Nails (Unit)?
Both brands disclose their total initial investment in FDD Item 7: see FDD for Image Studios, $425,205 – $686,200 for Hammer & Nails (Unit).
Is Image Studios or Hammer & Nails (Unit) growing faster?
Image Studios reports 68 franchised outlets, net change +31 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Hammer & Nails (Unit) reports 21 franchised outlets, net change +6 in the latest reported year, a 0% closure rate (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Other rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Image Studios 2024, Hammer & Nails (Unit) 2023). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.