Franchise Facts Report → compare → Anytime Fitness; vs Gracie Barra
Anytime Fitness; vs Gracie Barra
Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| Anytime Fitness; | Gracie Barra | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | $397,516 – $973,121 | $70,500 – $223,500 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | $42,500 | $10,000 |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | — | 8% |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | — | — |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 2,298 | 305 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | -20 | +32 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | 1.8% | 1.1% |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | disclosed | 0 |
| Risk level our read | Medium | Medium |
| FDD year registration | 2024 | 2024 |
Are Anytime Fitness; and Gracie Barra the same company?
No — Anytime Fitness; and Gracie Barra are franchised by separate companies. Anytime Fitness;'s franchisor is ANYTIME FITNESS FRANCHISOR LLC; Gracie Barra's is Gracie Barra Franchise Systems Inc.. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
Cost to open
Gracie Barra is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $70,500 – $223,500, against $397,516 – $973,121 for Anytime Fitness;.
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Neither Anytime Fitness; nor Gracie Barra makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Closures & failure rate
Anytime Fitness; reports 2,298 franchised outlets, net change -20 in the latest reported year, a 1.8% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Gracie Barra reports 305 franchised outlets, net change +32 in the latest reported year, a 1.1% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate.
Litigation
Anytime Fitness; discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (each case is described there). Gracie Barra discloses no franchisee-initiated proceedings in FDD Item 3.
Deciding between Anytime Fitness; and Gracie Barra?
See what else fits before you choose. Tell us your budget and state and we'll send you the 5–10 other franchises (or any industries you pick) with the strongest FDD record for it.
Anytime Fitness; vs Gracie Barra — frequently asked
Are Anytime Fitness; and Gracie Barra the same company?
No — Anytime Fitness; and Gracie Barra are franchised by separate companies. Anytime Fitness;'s franchisor is ANYTIME FITNESS FRANCHISOR LLC; Gracie Barra's is Gracie Barra Franchise Systems Inc.. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
What is the difference between Anytime Fitness; and Gracie Barra?
Anytime Fitness; and Gracie Barra are other franchises from different franchisors (ANYTIME FITNESS FRANCHISOR LLC and Gracie Barra Franchise Systems Inc.). Gracie Barra is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $70,500 – $223,500, against $397,516 – $973,121 for Anytime Fitness;. Neither Anytime Fitness; nor Gracie Barra makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Is Anytime Fitness; more profitable than Gracie Barra?
Neither Anytime Fitness; nor Gracie Barra makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Which is cheaper to open — Anytime Fitness; or Gracie Barra?
Gracie Barra is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $70,500 – $223,500, against $397,516 – $973,121 for Anytime Fitness;.
Is Anytime Fitness; or Gracie Barra growing faster?
Anytime Fitness; reports 2,298 franchised outlets, net change -20 in the latest reported year, a 1.8% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Gracie Barra reports 305 franchised outlets, net change +32 in the latest reported year, a 1.1% closure rate (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Other rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Anytime Fitness; 2024, Gracie Barra 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.