Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Yoshinoya

Yoshinoya franchise — is it worth it?

Quick-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2025

Medium risk

Yoshinoya is a quick-service restaurant franchise with a $27,500 franchise fee and a 20% royalty rate.

Everything below is free, read straight off Yoshinoya's registered filing. Weighing Yoshinoya against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
$27,500
FDD Item 5
Royalty
20%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed

Figures above are as disclosed in Yoshinoya's most recent FDD (registered 2025). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-31233 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Yoshinoya? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Yoshinoya will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Yoshinoya franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Yoshinoya does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Yoshinoya — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (56% of quick-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Yoshinoya's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Yoshinoya lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Yoshinoya's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Yoshinoya closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Yoshinoya will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Yoshinoya's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a quick-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Yoshinoya's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns Yoshinoya?

Yoshinoya's franchise is offered by Yoshinoya America, Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other quick-service restaurant franchises

Anyone weighing Yoshinoya is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Al-Hamra$165,850 – $291,750A.b.'s Smokehouse$382,000 – $678,000Yasubee Ramen$362,500 – $698,000Adamson's (Unit)$318,900 – $787,720 · Item 19 disclosedAbu Omar Halal$362,100 – $797,000 · Item 19 disclosedYour Pie$369,250 – $939,500 · Item 19 disclosedYogis Grill$436,800 – $903,600 · Item 19 disclosedAfuri Ramen + Dumpling$591,000 – $1,153,0005 Tacos and Beers$764,500 – $1,527,000 · Item 19 disclosedA&W; A&W Restaurants; A&W All American Food$894,130 – $1,640,034 · Item 19 disclosedZaxby's$1,460,000 – $3,810,500 · Item 19 disclosedAl Manakeeshinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

Yoshinoya franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Yoshinoya — who is the franchisor?

Yoshinoya's most recently filed FDD (2025) names Yoshinoya America, Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Yoshinoya franchise cost?

Yoshinoya's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7, with an initial franchise fee of $27,500 and a 20% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a Yoshinoya franchise make?

Yoshinoya makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Yoshinoya at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Yoshinoya disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Yoshinoya's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 56% of quick-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Yoshinoya?

No — Yoshinoya's most recently filed FDD (2025) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Yoshinoya a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Yoshinoya's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against quick-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Yoshinoya?

Get a free email when something changes on Yoshinoya or quick-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.