Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Waba Grill

Waba Grill franchise — is it worth it?

Quick-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2025

Medium risk Shrinking network Item 19 disclosed

Waba Grill is a quick-service restaurant franchise that discloses Item 19 financial performance representations, showing average gross sales for both company-owned and franchised outlets.

Everything below is free, read straight off Waba Grill's registered filing. Weighing Waba Grill against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
$35,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
$891,062
avg unit revenue, as disclosed
Litigation (Item 3)
1 case
in Item 3
Outlet network
186 units
-2 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Waba Grill's most recent FDD (registered 2025). Source: California Dept. of Financial Protection and Innovation — Franchise Registration · filing app-33568 — check it yourself. See every other California-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Waba Grill? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Waba Grill will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

How much does a Waba Grill franchise make?

Waba Grill is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The headline figure is $891,062 in average unit revenue — read it alongside what Item 19 says about which units it covers (often only mature or top-performing locations). See every quick-service restaurant brand that discloses earnings in the Fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

Waba Grill franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come Waba Grill's 5% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a Waba Grill franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "Waba Grill franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure. On $891,062 of revenue, a 5% royalty alone is about $44,553 a year before any other cost.

Waba Grill lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Waba Grill's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025) does disclose 1 legal proceeding in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Waba Grill itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Waba Grill closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Waba Grill will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Waba Grill's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a quick-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Waba Grill's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Net franchised outlets moved -2 to 186 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Waba Grill?

Waba Grill's franchise is offered by WaBa Grill Franchise Corp fka WaBa Grill, Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at CA DFPI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other quick-service restaurant franchises

Anyone weighing Waba Grill is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Al-Hamra$165,850 – $291,750A.b.'s Smokehouse$382,000 – $678,000Adamson's (Unit)$318,900 – $787,720 · Item 19 disclosedAbu Omar Halal$362,100 – $797,000 · Item 19 disclosedWadaya Mazemen and Ramen$474,500 – $842,500Villa Pizza$373,750 – $990,500 · Item 19 disclosedAfuri Ramen + Dumpling$591,000 – $1,153,0005 Tacos and Beers$764,500 – $1,527,000 · Item 19 disclosedA&W; A&W Restaurants; A&W All American Food$894,130 – $1,640,034 · Item 19 disclosedWahlburgers Restaurant$1,080,000 – $1,995,000Al Manakeeshinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedVons Chicken F+Binvestment not disclosed

Waba Grill franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Waba Grill — who is the franchisor?

Waba Grill's most recently filed FDD (2025) names WaBa Grill Franchise Corp fka WaBa Grill, Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Waba Grill franchise cost?

Waba Grill's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7, with an initial franchise fee of $35,000 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a Waba Grill franchise make?

Waba Grill discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (5% of gross for Waba Grill), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any Waba Grill franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate. The headline figure Waba Grill discloses is $891,062 in average unit revenue.

Does Waba Grill disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — Waba Grill reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The headline figure is $891,062 in average unit revenue, as the franchisor states it.

Are there lawsuits against Waba Grill?

Waba Grill's most recently filed FDD (2025) discloses 1 legal proceeding in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Waba Grill itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Waba Grill a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Waba Grill's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against quick-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Waba Grill?

Get a free email when something changes on Waba Grill or quick-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.