Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → The Original Pancake House

The Original Pancake House franchise — is it worth it?

Full-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

Medium risk Growing network

The Original Pancake House is a full-service restaurant franchise requiring an initial investment between $482,500 and $1,666,250.

Everything below is free, read straight off The Original Pancake House's registered filing, with where the numbers land against full-service restaurant peers. Weighing The Original Pancake House against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$482,500 – $1,666,250
Below the full-service restaurant median · median $1,392,100
Initial franchise fee
$60,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
2%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Outlet network
150 units
+4 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in The Original Pancake House's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 641064 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering The Original Pancake House? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. The Original Pancake House will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

The Original Pancake House franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: The Original Pancake House does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for The Original Pancake House — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (54% of full-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn The Original Pancake House's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Full-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

The Original Pancake House lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

The Original Pancake House's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

The Original Pancake House closures & failure rate

Before you sign, The Original Pancake House will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what The Original Pancake House's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a full-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. The Original Pancake House's latest tables show a growing franchised network. Net franchised outlets moved +4 to 150 in the latest reported year.

Who owns The Original Pancake House?

The Original Pancake House's franchise is offered by The Original Pancake House Franchising, Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Full-service restaurant franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing The Original Pancake House is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

The Original Mel's$5,500 – $25,000 · Item 19 disclosedThe Breakfast Club at Midtown$611,750 – $945,500 · Item 19 disclosedHeritage Restaurant Brands$332,000 – $1,497,000 · Item 19 disclosedSaemaeul$710,000 – $1,169,000Famous Toastery$687,500 – $1,206,000 · Item 19 disclosedShuckin' Shack$500,000 – $1,500,000 · Item 19 disclosedLumberjacks Restaurants$595,900 – $1,535,050Taffer's Tavern$812,000 – $1,351,000 · Item 19 disclosedCool Hand Luke's Grill$422,000 – $1,914,500Barrel House$680,000 – $1,662,000 · Item 19 disclosedThe Yellow Chilliinvestment not disclosedTwin Peaksinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

The Original Pancake House franchise — frequently asked

Who owns The Original Pancake House — who is the franchisor?

The Original Pancake House's most recently filed FDD (2026) names The Original Pancake House Franchising, Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a The Original Pancake House franchise cost?

The Original Pancake House's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $482,500 – $1,666,250, with an initial franchise fee of $60,000 and a 2% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against full-service restaurant peers it sits in the upper quartile (median $1,392,100).

How much profit does a The Original Pancake House franchise make?

The Original Pancake House makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for The Original Pancake House at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does The Original Pancake House disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — The Original Pancake House's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 54% of full-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against The Original Pancake House?

No — The Original Pancake House's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is The Original Pancake House a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from The Original Pancake House's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against full-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching The Original Pancake House?

Get a free email when something changes on The Original Pancake House or full-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.